So You Think You're Funny @ Gilded Balloon - stand up comedy competition
Home Festival 2007 GB Productions History Contact Us Sponsorship



Five, Paramount Comedy and 4DVD
So You Think You’re Funny?

The best stand-up comedy competition for newcomers.

Sponsored by Five, Paramount Comedy and 4DVD.

Established since 1988 'So You Think You’re Funny?' is the most prestigious of all the Edinburgh Festival Fringe stand-up comedy competitions.

The Gilded Balloon with a strong allegiance to comedy, devised 'So You Think You're Funny?' in order to discover new comic talent. During the years it developed into the most influential competition of its kind in the UK.

The competition starts in March with showcases countrywide, the search for the best comedy newcomers goes to Bath, Liverpool, Birmingham, Newcastle, Manchester, Glasgow, Dublin, Brighton and there are ten comedy clubs in London used. Last year there were over 600 applicants for only 70 places.

Each heat is one and a half hours long with each stand-up allowed eight minutes in which to win over the judges and the audience. A winner is announced who then goes forward to the finals. The final is always popular and with two and a half hours of top comedy, tickets are sold out within a couple of hours.

The competition is going into its 19th year and has continued to thrive from year to year. The pedigree of the competition is reflected in the list of past winners (see image gallery): Bruce Morton, Phil Kay, Rhona Cameron, Lee Mack, Dylan Moran, Tommy Tiernan and Peter Kay, all of which are now established comedians and television performers.

Other competitors in the past have been Ardal O'Hanlon, Johnny Vegas, Steve Furst, Michael Smiley, Ed Byrne, Dan Antapolski, Jason Byrne, Alex Zane, Dominic Holland, Nick Wilty, Lucy Porter, Reginald D Hunter, Paul Foot, Andy Zaultman, Nina Conti, Des Clarke, Francesca Martinez, Craig Hill, Alan Carr, The Reverend Obadiah Steppenwolfe III, Rhod gilbert, Matt Kirshen, Andrew Lawrence, Stefano Paolini, Russell Howard and many, many more.

The Final Compares have included Chris Evans, Jo Brand, Eddie Izzard, Mark Lamarr, Julian Clary, Arthur Smith, Graham Norton, Sean Lock and Bill Bailey.

Celebrity Judges have included Steve Coogan, Vic Reeves and Bob Mortimer, Avid Merrion, Jo Brand, Jenny Eclair, Emma Freud, Gail Porter, Fred MacAulay, Dylan Moran, Rhona Cameron and Owen O'Neill.

As well as attracting the glitterati of the Comedy world to the competition we also present the best party at the Fringe. Annually there is the Perrier Award Party, the Paramount Party, the BBC Comedy Awards Party, the Guardian Party and numerous others, however the So You Think You're Funny? Party has become a must to all festival and media players.

The Gilded Balloon are delighted with their continued relationship with Five, Paramount Comedy and 4DVD; the official sponsors of So You Think You're Funny? - together we show our commitment to supporting new comedy.


Apply for 2008 contest here...
Previous Winners

Bruce Morton

Phil Kay

Trio Brothers Troupe

Alan Francis

Rhona Cameron

Dylan Moran

Martin Trenaman

Lee Mack

Tommy Tiernan

Peter Kay

Rob Rouse

David O' Doherty

Drew Rokos

Miles Jupp

Matthew Osborn

Tom Wrigglesworth

Nick Sun

Tom Allan

Wes Packer

Richard Sandling
Richard Sandling
SYTYF 2008


About Gilded Balloon  |  Gilded Balloon Comedy Agency  |  Winter Wonderland  |  Edinburgh Festival Fringe
website development by Beechwood Communications