WCF Annual General Assembly 2008 Print E-mail

GRAND FORKS, North Dakota – The World Curling Federation Annual General Meeting took place April 9 at the Canad Inn, held during the 2008 World Men’s Curling Championship at Ralph Engelstad Arena. Items of interest include:



Moncton 2009

Jim Lockyer, Chairman of the 2009 Ford World Men’s Curling Championship in Moncton, Canada made a presentation to the WCF membership outlining plans for a very special World Championship. The event, which shall formally celebrate 50 years of World Men’s Curling (1959-2009) plus the 225th anniversary of the host province of New Brunswick, will kick off with a three-hour extravaganza combining the Opening Ceremonies and Opening Banquet, an unprecedented start to the World Men’s Curling Championship.


Following the first full season of competition under the new WCF Rulebook, the Rulebook was revisited as per the scheduled time and with the approval of the Membership was further modified.

The new WCF Rulebook will be available to Member Associations by end of June 2008, and also available via download from the WCF website.

The next schedule for modification occurs in the year 2010.


A major change was made to the WCF Constitution as pertaining to terms of office for the WCF Executive Board. Whereas Board members were eligible for election for up to three two-year terms, Board members are now eligible to be elected to a maximum of four two-year consecutive terms.

In addition, a clause was added specifying that no individual can remain on the Board longer than 20 years of cumulative service.

Further, a clause was added to provide for removal of a board member for reasons of just cause.

These changes were proposed and accepted to bring Curling closer to the terms of office of other International Sport Federations (ISFs) within the Olympic family.

World Curling Freytag Award

Former WCF President Roy Sinclair was named winner of the World Curling Freytag Award at the WCF Semi-Annual General Assembly held during the 2006 Le Gruyère European Curling Championships in Basel, Switzerland. Sinclair was formally presented with the award at this 2008 World Men’s Curling Championship in Grand Forks.

The World Curling Freytag Award is a tribute to the late Elmer Freytag, an American founder of the International Curling Federation (now WCF). It honours curlers for world-championship-level playing ability, sportsmanship, character and the achievement of extraordinary distinction; and/or builders, individuals who are honoured for distinguished service and major contributions to the development and advancement of international curling.

Sinclair served the WCF for many years – six as President, six as Vice President and another four as a member-at-large – and as current WCF Past President, still serves as the WCF’s Technical Delegate to the Vancouver 2010 Olympic Winter Games.

Sinclair’s tenure crossed the spectrum of curling’s re-entry into the modern era of the Olympic movement, and he also competed at the high-performance level, representing Scotland at the 1976 World Championships in Duluth, winning silver.


One new member was elected to the Executive Board of the World Curling Federation.

Mr. Young C. Kim became the first-ever Korean Board member following elections held to conclude the 2008 WCF AGA. Re-elected were Board members Leif Öhman (Sweden), Niels Larsen (Denmark) and Patrick Hürlimann (Switzerland). Director of Finance Warren Lowe (United States), Vice-President Kate Caithness (Scotland) and President Les Harrison (Canada) were returned by acclamation.

Kim replaces Mr. Hiro Saito (Japan) who has retired after serving terms from 1994 through 2000 and from 2002 through 2008. The World Curling Federation congratulates and thanks Mr. Saito for his years of distinguished service to world curling.


< Prev   Next >

WCF Member Login

Lost Password?