HIP HOP RELEASE: Drapht - Brothers Grimm

Drapht - Brothers Grimm

Brothers Grimm is the third album from West Australian MC Drapht. Drawing comparisons to the likes of Q-Tip and Grand Puba, he possesses one of the most unique voices in Australian Hip Hop.

Choosing to not simply rely on his trademark style he delivers an album replete with substance, displaying an incredible passion and vigour, a testament to Drapht’s unwavering commitment to Australian Hip Hop. Following the release of his first album Pale Rider (2003) at the age of 20, the 2005 release Who Am I garnered widespread success on Triple J and community radio nationwide.

Brothers Grimm
is an uplifting album destined to capture the imagination with its catchy hooks, intelligent wordplay and consistently phenomenal production. Drapht shifts effortlessly from the quirky and playful Where Yah From and Jimmy Recard, to the frustration and grit of Soundman, Insomnia and Don’t Wanna

The sombre, reflective tones of Falling and Lose Control present yet another string in the bow of this wordsmith, later joined by fellow MCs Ciecmate, Dazastah & Trials on the massive posse cut Rest In Peace.

Produced by Trials (The Funkoars) with guest production by world class Australian producers M-Phazes, Plutonic Lab and Simplex, Brothers Grimm charts a course through the breadth and width of modern Hip Hop.

Along with a history of headline shows around Australia and massive appearances at the Obese Records Block Party, Drapht has supported such international greats as Redman and Method Man, Rahzel and Z-Trip. His recent performance at Good Vibrations Festival proved beyond a doubt that he is now worthy of recognition at the highest peak of Australian Hip Hop.

Drapht’s is soon set to embark on an Australian national tour in support of the album. Meanwhile, the first single, Jimmy Recard, is out now through Obese Records.

01 Intro
02 Falling
03 The Money
04 Insomnia
05 Jimmy Recard
06 Dreams & Dreamers
07 A Good Year
08 Boom Boom Boom
09 Sound Man
10 Don’t Wanna Work
11 Rest In Peace ft. Ciecmate, Dazastah & Trials
12 Where Yah From
13 Put On A Record
14 Lost
15 Lose Control ft. Porsah Laine

Free Mixtapes

Ok but...

I tend to agree about the soundman, insomnia and don't wanna work songs being 'frustrated' but they really don't fit into this great album. Rest in Peace just puts a giant hole in it really.

See my review -Here-