project was an ideal companion to The Bendigo Trust’s other
attraction, Central Deborah Gold Mine, with tram access directly
to the site.
The Bendigo Trust was successful in its venture,
when, in September 1972, the Victorian Cabinet of the day announced
it had approved a two year trial of the tourist tramways The Bendigo
Trust had recommended.
The Bendigo Vintage ‘Talking’ Tram
service commenced in December 1972 and remains in operation today.
The current track runs from the Central Deborah
Gold Mine through Pall Mall in the city’s centre, to Lake
Weeroona and the Chinese Joss House on the north side of the city.
other city which closed its tramways, left track, trams and a
depot behind in the manner that Bendigo did, so while there are
several worthwhile tram museums in Australia, none are able to
engage with their city in the way that Bendigo’s trams do.
The Bendigo Tram Depot is now the oldest operating
depot in Australia, and each tram tour includes a stop at the
heritage listed depot to explore history dating back to 1903.
The original fleet of 23 trams is being carefully
restored in our depot by the Bendigo Heritage Rail Workshop, which
has enabled major restoration works not only for Bendigo’s
fleet but for other depots and museums around Australia and overseas.