Album Reviews

Photo

50 Cent

Curtis

RS: 3.5of 5 Stars Average User Rating: 3of 5 Stars

2007

Play View 50 Cent's page on Rhapsody

I ain't fresh out the hood/ I'm still in the hood," 50 Cent rhymes in "Fully Loaded Clip," feeling the heat even if he just sold 5 million copies of The Massacre a couple of years ago. He's out to prove he's everything he used to claim (“Still in da club, still sipping bub”) while rocking “more whips than a runaway slave.” Like The Massacre, Curtis divides between hard songs (“Man Down,” “Fire,” “I'll Still Kill”) and soft songs (“Follow My Lead”), for the first time letting guests sing most of the hooks. Fiddy revisits old streets in “Straight to the Bank,” produced by Ty Fyffe and Dr. Dre, while “Peep Show” brings back Eminem. “My Gun Go Off” has a metal-guitar hook a la “Party Like a Rock Star,” “I'll Still Kill” lets Akon thug out, and the summer jam “I Get Money” takes off on Naughty by Nature's “Hip Hop Hooray.” The down side? The I-need-love pop tunes are not getting any better, even with Timbaland and Justin Timberlake in the stripper ditty “AYO Technology.” “Follow My Lead” is an inexplicable Robin Thicke duet (“Like Janet Jackson said, I miss you much/I really wanna feel your touch”), and “Amusement Park” is even sillier (“Watch me as I pull a rabbit out my hat/It won't be a rabbit, it'll be a gat”). Much better is “All of Me,” with Mary J. Blige. Wailing, “I got a feeling like I'm fiending on crack,” Blige steals the show without even trying.

ROB SHEFFIELD

(Posted: Sep 4, 2007)

Advertisement

News and Reviews

loading...

Click "Copy Me" to add the RS.com Widget to your Facebook page, blog, MySpace page and more.

Advertisement

Review 1 of 15

triggaman writes:

3of 5 Stars


50 cent is a coward. Calling Lil Wayne out. Lil Wayne will eat him! haha. The man has good music tho i'll give him that.

May 20, 2008 13:40:41

Off Topic Report Abuse

Review 2 of 15

bales33 writes:

5of 5 Stars


i think people to hard on 50 cent
i have curtis and massacre
the massacure is better yes
but curtis is a prutty nice cd
it as a few songs i dont like but it has some real good songs
i didnt buy the cd i took it out the case and stole the cd cause i didnt feel like paying for any cd but track 16 i dont no the name case i cant steal the case cause it goes off in the detectors but its a nice track my faveriote on the cd...i lestin to the cd more than any other 50 cent made a nice one i dont no why yall dont like it

May 15, 2008 21:05:40

Off Topic Report Abuse

Review 3 of 15

bales33 writes:

5of 5 Stars


i think people to hard on 50 cent
i have curtis and massacre
the massacure is better yes
but curtis is a prutty nice cd
it as a few songs i dont like but it has some real good songs
i didnt buy the cd i took it out the case and stole the cd cause i didnt feel like paying for any cd but track 16 i dont no the name case i cant steal the case cause it goes off in the detectors but its a nice track my faveriote on the cd...i lestin to the cd more than any other 50 cent made a nice one i dont no why yall dont like it

May 15, 2008 21:05:40

Off Topic Report Abuse

Review 4 of 15

fffffifty writes:

3of 5 Stars


ummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm i think ko should come out with better albums and he probably would move up in the world thats all im saying no offense 50

Feb 29, 2008 15:59:24

Off Topic Report Abuse

Review 5 of 15

noface writes:

1of 5 Stars


this album is wack..50 need to give up rap, and become a body builder " he's so gay" GGG= "gay unit", not that this album is not selling he should change his name to 5 cent..go Mr West...........IF anyone know 50 aka 5 cent tell him no face say what goes up must come down...

Oct 18, 2007 19:19:33

Off Topic Report Abuse

Review 6 of 15

awcohen writes:

2of 5 Stars


The album cover for 50 Cent's third studio release shows the rapper immersed in thought, clutching his forehead, as if contemplating the deeper meaning of life. That image, combined with the album's title, suggests Curtis might provide an intimate glimpse into the man behind the mogul. Nope.

Curtis offers up the same old bump and grind as his first two albums and calls upon the same muses: guns, money and women.

Tracks like "My Gun Go Off," "Fully Loaded Clip" and "Straight to the Bank" show that there are only so many ways of rapping about getting cash, banging chicks and killing haters. 50 tries to mix things up a little with the euphemism-heavy "Amusement Park," which harkens back to The Massacre's "Candy Shop," with groaners like, "If you wanna ride the roller coaster/ Baby, come on and ride."

"I Get Money" is as close as Curtis gets to replicating hits from past albums. In the first verse, he hits the nail right on the head: "You can call this my new shit/ But it ain't new though."

50 flaunts the depth of his Rolodex on the album's seven collaboration tracks, calling in verses and beats from friends both new and old.

The most shameless is the Timbaland-produced, Timberlake-chorused "AYO Technology," which sounds like a poor man's "My Love." 50's delivery isn't nearly as smooth as T.I.'s, and he ends up sounding like an anachronism in Tim's futuristic world.

The obligatory Akon cameo is relatively painless in the thunderous thug anthem "I'll Still Kill." Crooner Robin Thicke lends his vocals on the cheese-ball ballad "Follow My Lead," on which 50 shows his softer side: "If you act like a b***, I call you a b***, then hang up/ But I'll probably call you right back." And Eminem reliably offers fart noises and rhymes about poop on "Peep Show."

It's not until the 14th track that Curtis finally heats up. R&B queen Mary J. Blige lends her pipes to the soulful "All of Me," which is by far the album's highlight and one of the few tracks where 50 isn't trying to justify his thug. "Fire" brings together old friend Dr. Dre, who produced Get Rich or Die Tryin', and fellow G-Unit member Young Buck for Curtis's best club track.

50 Cent has always prided himself more on his business savvy than his artistic adventurousness, earning his iconic status not through innovative music, but a franchise that includes movies, books, video games, even bottled water.

As a result, Curtis sounds less like a musical work and more like the next installation in a line of merchandise with the "50" brand name on it.


Oct 7, 2007 16:57:05

Off Topic Report Abuse

Review 7 of 15

sumker writes:

1of 5 Stars


Oh, it was entertaining battle with Kanye:)) And 50 failed. While West is blending Nietzsche with japans anime-graphics in “Stronger”, 50 is talking shit in one-and-only pressed hit “AYO Technology”. But if you saw a video on this song, please, tell me, where is 50 there? Timbaland’s b-side sound plus Timberlake’s sugar erased 50 finally. 50 without 5. Get back, gangster!

Oct 3, 2007 03:57:46

Off Topic Report Abuse

Review 8 of 15

bopgun writes:

1of 5 Stars


I's used to gots dis cd but my dawg Ice Red Bully ate it y'aaaaal..... When I found out I bus' his head on de pavement, aiiight ! Propa propa like Mike V. Shit y'all's I gots to pick up my babies mom's at Popeye's, I gots'a walk, my 1973 El Dorado with no rims is on de blocks again, aiiiiiiighttttttttttttttttttt......

Sep 28, 2007 23:08:48

Off Topic Report Abuse

Previous

 

 


Advertisement

Advertisement