Find in this site

Coat of arms and standard

The national coat of arms is the same as the Queen’s coat of arms, with one difference.

The royal coat of arms is placed on a mantle of ermine surmounted by a crown. The royal standard has existed since 1908.

The royal coat of arms dates from 1815, when the Kingdom of the Netherlands was founded. It is the same as the Dutch national coat of arms. In 1907 it was changed, and in 1980 once again laid down by Royal Decree.

In 1908, Queen Wilhelmina adopted a flag called the royal standard, which has also served Queen Juliana and Queen Beatrix.