Album Reviews

Photo

Muse

Black Holes And Revelations  Hear it Now

RS: 3.5of 5 Stars Average User Rating: 4.5of 5 Stars

2006

Play View Muse's page on Rhapsody

Muse's fourth album is one of the year's most overblown records, mixing together huge, doomy soundscapes, snarling guitars and space-age sound effects with Matthew Bellamy's operatic wail and lyrics about stuff like death, injustice and "superstars sucked into the supermassive." This isn't so surprising coming from these sub-Radiohead gloomsters; what's surprising is that most of the time, Black Holes and Revelations actually works. There's room for melody on seductive songs like "Invincible," an epic with military drums and laser-beam guitar. Sleek, falsetto-laden lead single "Supermassive Black Hole" bangs like prime Depeche Mode, and "Starlight" sets sparkling patter and Coldplay-style swoons over an almost power-pop groove. A couple of sci-fi anthems "Knights of Cydonia" and "City of Delusion" are as ridiculous as their track names. But if you manage to suspend your disbelief a little, Black Holes and Revelations will push your pleasure buttons.

CHRISTIAN HOARD

(Posted: Jul 24, 2006)

Advertisement

News and Reviews

Advertisement


How to Play This Album
  • Click the play button.

  • Register or enter your username and password.

  • Let the music play!

No commitment.
It's FREE.

 

Review 1 of 14

MrMagyar writes:

4of 5 Stars


Firstly about Radiohead and Muse...there really is no comparsion, There's still some Radiohead type songs on herw (Starlight is basically No Suprises, a good head-nodder and Knights of Cydonia is just like Paranoid Android, always changing)

It is a great album in it's own right, Seeing as every band has their influences, Just some influences are stronger than others.

We'll see what Muse conjour up next, Apparently Matt Bellamy stated in a interview that they are moving onto more electronic experimentation...

As the Thom Yorke put it...

Interviewer: What do you think when bands today like Coldplay and Muse are making money of sounding like you 10 years ago?

Thom Yorke: Good luck with Kid A.

Jun 27, 2008 12:26:32

Off Topic Report Abuse

Review 2 of 14

lukewarm writes:

5of 5 Stars


Christian H - I'm baffled... did you listen to the same album I've recently heard?
BH&R is a gigantic uber musical masterpiece from first listen. Its difficult to be "original" these days, but most of Muse's tunes are just that... Titanically brilliant - unlike your baffling review. Go get your ears waxed. Immediately. Please.

Jan 4, 2008 05:28:56

Off Topic Report Abuse

Review 3 of 14

AAtheCritic writes:

5of 5 Stars


Blackholes and Revelations deserves better than its Christian Hoarde review.


Muse defines their style with several new sounds and ideas, and innovative songs like Map of the Problematique.

Sep 2, 2007 12:36:03

Off Topic Report Abuse

Review 4 of 14

jorgantoad writes:

2of 5 Stars


I was expecting an awesome album when I began my trek with Muse. I'de never heard anything from them, but I was prepared for the best due to some reviews I had read. Needless to say, I was dissapointed, they bare to much resembelence to U2 and even more resembelence to Radiohead. I also think that some of the album ripped those bands off directly. I felt the album was very uninspiring, unoriginal and tired. Let alone I can play every song from the album before I even pick up my guitar. This band will be forgotten when Radiohead hit the streets again.

Aug 7, 2007 10:03:41

Off Topic Report Abuse

Review 5 of 14

mattelmes writes:

5of 5 Stars


i thought black holes and revalations was comparable to "origin of symetry" if not better for two reasons. first i found that the songs showed as much emotion and chemistry in them as those from their previous albums, and that it offered a diversity of melodies making it so the songs didn't seem to blend into one another, i cant recall how many albums i have listened to where every song sounds strikingly similar. "soldiers poem" was the song that i found to be the most remarkable of all the songs in how calmly Matthew Bellamy sang "it's a shame we're all dying". and "Map of the Problematique" had a twist of 'depeche mode' sound mixed into the amazing instrumentals. "starlight" being the most radio friendly song on the album does not do this entire cd justice so i strongly advise you listen to the entire album twice.

Jul 31, 2007 19:37:40

Off Topic Report Abuse

Review 6 of 14

WithWings writes:

4of 5 Stars


First of all, I'm sick of people comparing Muse to Radiohead. They are nothing the same. They haven't been since Origin of Symmetry. So for every professional music reviewer: get over it, its old news. Now, with that out of the way, I'll begin my review for this album. Overall, I love this album. I'll admit, I've been a Muse fan since the very beginning so I might be a bit bias, but I really think this album is great. The first song Take A Bow is a real cracker, building up the tension to set the scene for the rest of the album. Each successive song has its own unique sound, whether it be the 80s-styled Starlight, dance fuelled Supermassive Black Hole or the dynamic, creepy Hoodoo. The only song on this album I don't like is Invincible, but thats just personal preference. It seems a bit cheesy in its lyrics, although I do suspect its meant to be tongue-in-cheek. Still, I always skip it when I listen to this CD. Nevertheless, as a whole, Black Holes and Revelations is really good fun. True, its not as angst-ridden and introspective as Origin of Symmetry and much of Absolution, but I think the poltical themes really work here. A lot of hardcore fans have said its too different and that Muse have sold out, but if they didn't see this direction coming then they've obviously not been paying very much attention to the previous albums (Hysteria anyone?). It did take a few listens to really click in, but I personally enjoy my epic, passionate rock with funky electronic sounds. If you do too, then you will like this album.

Jun 10, 2007 03:06:48

Off Topic Report Abuse

Review 7 of 14

Saratustratalk writes:

5of 5 Stars


This is the best album for de 2006, no more, i don`t now why have three and a half stars, thats not true, VERY GOOD ALBUM, tienes ke comprarlo

Apr 24, 2007 04:52:53

Off Topic Report Abuse

Review 8 of 14

johnnynotsid writes:

5of 5 Stars


Rolling Stone gave MCR's The Black Parade four and a half stars, but Black Holes and Revelations gets only 3 and a half stars? Not fair. This is just as good. Five stars if only for Knights of Cydonia. I don't care what people say about Radiohead. I love Muse.

Apr 9, 2007 17:28:07

Off Topic Report Abuse

Previous

 

Everything:Muse

Main | Biography | Album Reviews | Photos | Discography

 


Advertisement

Advertisement