Oregon Courts Home Page ESPAÑOL Accessibility Page

Oregon Court of Appeals
1163 State Street
Salem, OR 97301-2563

Phone: 503.986.5555
Fax: 503.986.5560
TTY: 503.986.5561

Appellate Settlement Conference

Media Contact:
Lora Keenan
Phone: 503.986.5660

Text Size:   A   A-   A+

Court of Appeals Judges

Court of Appeals Judges
Front row seated: Center - Chief Judge David Brewer , Left - Judge Walter Edmonds , Right - Judge Jack Landau.

Back row from left to right: Judge Ellen Rosenblum , Judge David Schuman , Judge Virginia Linder (now Justice Linder), Judge Rick Haselton , Judge Rex Armstrong , Judge Robert Wollheim and Judge Darleen Ortega. Not pictured:
Timothy Sercombe).

The Court of Appeals, created in 1969, is the first level of appeal following trial. The court has jurisdiction to hear all civil and criminal appeals from circuit courts, except death penalty cases, and to review most state administrative agency actions. The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court appoints the Chief Judge from among the ten judges on the Court of Appeals.

For more detailed descriptions of the Court of Appeals, see An Introduction to the Courts of Oregon and the court's 2007 Report. (For previous annual reports, see Statistics and Other Reports) For information on fees, transcripts, appellate case processing, and sample forms, see Appellate Court Records. And see School and Community Outreach on how the Court brings its work to students and communities throughout Oregon.

If you are looking for information on a pending case, please note that the court does not announce in advance when it will issue an opinion. You can find the opinions and any Supreme Court announcements about opinions it expects to issue the next day on the Opinions page. For other information on pending cases, please contact Appellate Court Records .

Court of Appeals Judges

David V. Brewer
Chief Judge

Walt Edmonds

Jack L. Landau

Rick Haselton

Rex Armstrong

Robert Wollheim

David Schuman

Darleen Ortega

Ellen F. Rosenblum

Timothy J. Sercombe

Appellate Settlement Conference Program

Judy Henry, Director
Cheryl Alex, Assistant