Latest News
WAIS Athletes Selected in Australian Paralympic Squad
16 July 2008
Durbridge and Kent Win Medals in Cape Town
15 July 2008
Wheeler Defeats UK Gladiator in Hexham Conquest
15 July 2008
> all news
Subscribe to the
WAIS mailing list.
Photo Gallery
Go for 2&5
Events Calendar
Volvo Youth Sailing World Championships
Aarhus, Denmark
10-19 July
XXIII World Junior AAA Championships
Edmonton, Canada
17-28 July
ICU World Junior Road Championships
Cape Town, South Africa
17-20 July
> all events
Athlete Blogs
Are You Jealous Yet?
By Olivia Vivian
18 July 2008
Calluses, Blisters and Rips
By Olivia Vivian
16 July 2008
By Olivia Vivian
07 July 2008
> all blogs
WA Hall of Champions
The idea of establishing a Western Australian sporting Hall of Champions was originally put forward by the Sportwriters Association of WA in 1983.

That Association did some preparatory work on the project before the Western Australian Government as the Western Australian Institute of Sport to develop the concept fully. The Hall of Champions was officially inaugurated by the then Minister for Sport and Recreation, the Hon. Keith Wilson, on August 19, 1985. The Foundation Members of the Hall were inducted on that date.

It was not until the Superdrome (now Challenge Stadium) was constructed on its present site in Mount Claremont in 1987 that the Hall of Champions became a tangible entity which could be visited and enjoyed. Busts of the fourteen foundation members were placed on display in the foyer of the Superdrome and are still located in that situation today.

A large framed photograph of each athlete in action honours new inductees, with a commemorative plaque under the photo detailing their achievements. Since 1987 the photos have been shown in a long walkway gallery which forms the main artery of Challenge Stadium, running straight down the centre of the building to the Champions Club a social and function room in the stadium.

The Hall of Champions remained unchanged for several years until the closing months of 2001 when a Memorandum of Understanding was signed between the Western Australian Institute of Sport and Curtin University of Technology. This memorandum hands over the role of curator to the University who will henceforth be responsible for the maintenance and operation of the Hall of Champions. It is possible that, at a later date, the Gallery and busts will be re-located to a venue within Curtin University. However, for the time being they will remain at Challenge Stadium for the enjoyment of visitors and citizens of WA.

The main criteria for admission to the Hall are:
  • Outstanding sporting achievement at the highest level
  • The athlete must be accepted as a product of the WA sporting system or have established their reputation while resident in WA
  • The athlete must have retired from the highest level of competition for five years.

Members of the selection committee for the Hall of Champions are:
Mr David Hatt (Chairman)
Mr Ken Casellas
Mrs Liz Chetkovich
Mr Alan East
Mr George Grjulisich
Mr Glenn Mitchell
Ms Pam O'Connell
WA Hall of Champions Inductees (102 Since 1985)
Trevor Bickle Athletics
Christine Stanton Athletics
Ian Tomlinson Athletics
Shirley de la Hunty Athletics
Phil May Athletics
Herb Elliott Athletics
John Winter Athletics
Decima Hamilton Athletics
Brad Hardie Australian Football
Graham Moss Australian Football
Bernie Naylor Australian Football
Ern Henfry Australian Football
Ross Glendinning Australian Football
Graham Farmer Australian Football
Stephen Michael Australian Football
George Moloney Australian Football
WJ (Nipper) Truscott Australian Football
Jerry Dolan Australian Football
Phil Matson Australian Football
Bill Walker Australian Football
George Doig Australian Football
Merv McIntosh Australian Football
Steve Marsh Australian Football
John Todd Australian Football
Jack Clarke Australian Football
Haydn Bunton Australian Football
John Leonard Australian Football
Jack Sheedy Australian Football
Barry Cable Australian Football
Brian Peake Australian Football
George Owens Australian Football
Luc Longley Basketball
Walter Lindrum Billiards
Bob Marshall Billiards
Rodney Marsh Cricket
Bob Massie Cricket
Dennis Lillee Cricket
Geoff Marsh Cricket
Barry Shepherd Cricket
Bruce Reid Cricket
Terry Alderman Cricket
Kim Hughes Cricket
John Inverarity Cricket
Bruce Yardley Cricket
Graeme Wood Cricket
Graham McKenzie Cricket
Ernest Parker Cricket & Tennis
Steele Bishop Cycling
Lorraine McCoulough-Fry Disabled Swimming
Graham Marsh Golf
Fred Kersley Junior Harness Racing
Frank Kersley Harness Racing
Wendy Pritchard Hockey
Sharon Buchanan Hockey
Don Smart Hockey
Ric Charlesworth Hockey
Jacqui Pereira Hockey
Julian Pearce Hockey
Eric Pearce Hockey
David Bell Hockey
Marian Aylmore Hockey
Craig Davies Hockey
May Campbell Hockey
Elspeth Denning-Clement Hockey
Terry Walsh Hockey
Ray Evans Hockey
Brian Glencross Hockey
Mavis Gray Hockey
Michelle Hager Hockey
Rechelle Hawkes Hockey
Jean Wynne Hockey
Frank Moore Horse Racing
John Miller Horse Racing
Frank Treen Horse Racing
Jeff Kennedy Lacrosse
Brian Griffin Lacrosse
Connie Hicks Lawn Bowls
Elsma Merillo Netball
Annette Simper Netball
Gaye Teede Netball
Jill McIntosh Netball
Gary Marocchi Soccer
Ron Johnson Speedway
Barbara Wall Squash
Dean Williams Squash
Don Morrison Surf Lifesaving
Ken Vidler Surf Lifesaving
Jodie Cooper Surfriding
Ian Cairns Surfriding
Neil Brooks Swimming
Lynne Bates Swimming
Priya Cooper Swimming
Peter Evans Swimming
Evelyn Whillier Swimming
Kevin O Halloran Swimming
Lyn McKenzie Swimming
Clive Wilderspin Tennis
Lesley Hunt Tennis
Tom Hoad Water Polo
Bridgette Gusterson Water Polo
David Neesham Water Polo
Rolly Tasker Yachting
* Foundation Member