graphic- corner spacer spacer graphic - corner
  Writer's Guild of Great Britain logo graphic-apostropheThe Writers' Guild of Great Britain supports writers for TV, film, radio, theatre, books and computer games  
  Writer's Guild of Great Britain logo

Guild Award winners 2007

The winners of the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain Awards 2007 were announced at a ceremony hosted by Jeremy Hardy on Sunday 18 November at BAFTA. There are photos from the night on the Guild's blog.

The winners were:

Best Videogame Script

  • Dan Houser and Jacob Krarup - Canis Canem Edit

Also nominated:

  • Dan Houser and David Bland - Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories

  • Charles Cecil and Neil Richards - Broken Sword: Angel of Death

Best Radio Play

  • Steve Gooch - McNaughton

Also nominated:

  • Charles Wood – Conspiracy at Sevres

  • Mark Lawson – Expand This

Best Original Drama (TV)

  • Neil McKay - See No Evil: The Moors Murders

Also nominated:

  • Victoria Wood - Housewife, 49 

  • Peter Morgan - Longford

Best Soap / Series (TV)

  • Chris Chibnall, Paul Cornell, Russell T. Davies, Stephen Greenhorn, Steven Moffat, Helen Raynor and Gareth Roberts - Doctor Who, Series 3

Also nominated:

  • Joe Ainsworth, Lisa Holdsworth, Nigel McCrery, Charles McKeown, Roy Mitchell, J.C. Wilsher and Richard Zajdlic - New Tricks, Series 4

  • Chris Chibnall, Mark Greig, Matthew Graham, Guy Jenkin, Tony Jordan, Ashley Pharoah and Julie Rutterford – Life on Mars, Series 2

Best Comedy / Light Entertainment (TV)

  • Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Tony Roche - The Thick of It

Also nominated:

  • Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant - Extras

  • James Corden and Ruth Jones - Gavin & Stacey

Best Play (Theatre)

  • Gregory Burke - Black Watch

Also nominated:

  • Peter Morgan - Frost/Nixon

  • Tom Stoppard - Rock 'n' Roll

Best Screenplay (Feature Film)

  • Shane Meadows - This Is England

Also nominated:

  • Tony Grisoni - Lives Of The Saints

  • Paul Laverty - The Wind That Shakes The Barley

  • Jeremy Brock and Peter Morgan - The Last King Of Scotland (based on the book by Giles Foden)

All the nominated writer(s) had to be British or have worked in Britain. Eligible programmes / plays / books etc had to have been first released, published, performed or broadcast during the period 1 June 2006 - 31 May 2007 inclusive.

Other awards presented at the ceremony on Sunday 18 November were:

  • Outstanding Contribution to Children’s Writing - J.K. Rowling

  • A Special Award from the Writers’ Guild’s Books Committee - Alan Brownjohn

  • The Edinburgh International Film Festival 2007, Best Screenplay Award, presented by the Writers’ Guild and The List - Matt Greenhalgh (Control)

  • A Lifetime Achievement Award - Alan Plater

The Awards were supported by sponsorship from BBC, ITV and Working Title and the Fisher Organisation.

Article updated: 19.10.2007

arrow - back to top back to top


graphic - corner     graphic corner