The establishment of 19,000 new homes and the supporting public infrastructure is a major undertaking. To enable the development to take place in an appropriate timeframe, it will be rolled out in stages over approximately 40 years. Stage one will be Kembla Grange to Wongawilli, followed by the area west of Horsley, then Cleveland, then Avondale. Development will commence in the north of the release area to utilise existing services and promote development of the Kembla Grange employment lands, and will be gradually extended south. The Yallah- Marshall Mount and Dapto Town Centre precincts will be able to develop separately.

A Local Environment Plan will guide the zoning of land and control land use in the release area, and a Development Control Plan will guide the specifics of development. Infrastructure will be funded through a combination of Council rates, development contributions – both through Council’s Section 94 provisions and a State Government regional levy – and in some cases, through additional means such as public-private partnerships.

Last Modified: 24/09/2007

Return to Top