CSIRO CSIRO Marine and Atmospheric Research
About CMAR | News& Events | Library | Careers | Doing Business | Contact Us | Education

Graeme Pearman


Graeme Pearman joined CSIRO in 1971 after doing a postgraduate year at the University of Wisconsin, Madison, USA, on the energy budget of leaves and plant canopies. His early work with CSIRO involved the measurement of CO2 fluxes into wheat crops. He was Chief of CSIRO Atmospheric Research from 1992 to 2002, and left CSIRO in 2004 to establish his own consultancy company and take up a position with Monash University.

Graeme Pearman was born in 1941 in Western Australia and originally trained as a biologist, obtaining his degrees from the University of Western Australia. He was the main thrust behind the establishment of the Australian Baseline Monitoring Station in Tasmania, which is now recognised as the premier observatory of this kind in the world. In the mid-1980's, with the development of understanding concerning likely planetary warming, Dr Pearman became involved in the communication of this work to the wider scientific and lay community, gaining widespread Australian media attention to the greenhouse effect in 1986. He played a lead role in building up climate modelling and atmospheric chemistry research at the Division of Atmospheric Research. He also initiated the science-focussed conference Greenhouse 87, the community-focussed Greenhouse 88, and Greenhouse 94, a conference that brought together an even wider range of experts. He now conducts influential briefings for the media, governments at all levels, Ministers and departmental staff, and peak bodies of industry, engineering and environmental groups.

Graeme Pearman is a national and international expert in research on increasing levels of carbon dioxide in the global atmosphere. Through work as Chairman of START International (Washington)and with the International Council of Science he has been involved in building research capacity internationally. He has published over 150 scientific papers. Major awards include the CSIRO Medal in 1988, UNEP Global 500 Award in 1989, elected Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science in 1989 and Fellow of the Royal Society of Victoria in 1997, a Medal of The Order of Australia in 1999, and a Federation Medal in 2003.


Legal Notice and Disclaimer | Copyright CSIRO Australia 1997-2007 | Date created 1/2/2007