Commentators

null 16° London Hi 25°C / Lo 18°C

Dominic Lawson

Dominic Lawson

Former editor of The Specator magazine and the Sunday Telegraph newspaper, Dominic Lawson who is noted for his robust and iconoclastic opinions on political and social issue, has been writing a column for The Independent since 2006.

Dominic Lawson: These MPs only really care about one thing... their jobs

The public could be forgiven for seeing the fight as having nothing at all to do with their own lives

Recently by Dominic Lawson

Dominic Lawson: We should have no reason to be surprised when a doctor turns out to be a murderer

Friday, 25 July 2008

What should a genocidal mass-murderer look like? And what professional qualifications should he have? Of the two men indicted by the Hague war crimes tribunal as masterminds of the planned massacre of thousands of Bosnian Muslim adults and children, Ratko Mladic fits all our preconceptions.

Dominic Lawson: The hypocrisy of the population zealots

Tuesday, 15 July 2008

The control freaks have been skilful in adopting the political concerns of the day to their cause

Dominic Lawson: He'd never credit her, but Cameron is sounding more and more like Mrs Thatcher

Friday, 11 July 2008

So now the political battle line between Labour and Conservative has been drawn. Gordon Brown says we should all eat up, rather than waste the food on our plate. David Cameron, in clear opposition, tells us that we must take more responsibility for our spreading waistlines. Let the nation divide: puritans versus aesthetes.

Dominic Lawson: I'm sorry, but Brown is talking rubbish

Tuesday, 8 July 2008

I too was told to "think of the starving people" and eat up all the food on my plate

Dominic Lawson: Tories used to condemn the politics of envy. Now they're seeing it from the other side

Friday, 4 July 2008

Here is an irony to be savoured: just as the Conservative Party has switched to the view that large disparities in income are a Bad Thing – and that relative rather than absolute poverty is the enemy – the Joseph Rowntree Foundation has produced a report which suggests that the Left (or at least the thinking bits of it) are now moving in precisely the opposite direction.

Dominic Lawson: Meet the new Obama, master of the U-turn

Tuesday, 1 July 2008

Some of those most captivated by the Democrat candidate are now feeling distinctly queasy

Dominic Lawson: This child protection hysteria deflects attention from a real, and growing, danger

Friday, 27 June 2008

Sometimes mothers can be so embarrassing. How about Gail Jordan, who asked her local Asda to transfer a photographic print of her son as a five-month-old baby on to a cake for his 21st birthday party?

Dominic Lawson: So now we will have degrees in quackery

Tuesday, 24 June 2008

What, really, is the difference between acupuncture and psychic surgery?

Dominic Lawson: This is more than a political knock-about

Friday, 20 June 2008

The big smear started the moment David Davis announced his resignation to fight a by-election on the issue of Labour's erosion of civil liberties. It was said that Mr Davis had been "bewitched" by the director of Liberty, Shami Chakrabarti. The smear then grew, in the way these things do, to the allegation – unfounded, unjustifiable and, to any one who knows the happily married Ms Chakrabarti, unbelievable – that there was "something going on between them".

Dominic Lawson: The sheer hypocrisy of this debate on oil

Tuesday, 17 June 2008

The developing countries have a policy of subsidising the price – and on a vast scale

More dominic lawson:


Columnist Comments

deborah_orr

Deborah Orr: Face the facts: men are more prone to violence than women

What is murder? It is a much more complicated question than it may seem

hamish_mcrae

Hamish McRae: Don't despair over house prices

So what's to be done about the mortgage famine?

mark_steel

Mark Steel: Why do the unions keep handing over money?

Where unions have defied the trend and grown has been where they're seen to be defending the workforce

Most popular in Opinion

Article Archive

Day In a Page

Sun | Mon | Tue | Wed | Thu | Fri | Sat

Select date