Best In The Desert Racing Association

Best In The Desert Racing





The Best In The Desert off-road racing series is run in the harsh deserts of Nevada and Arizona, where many race trucks and buggies are rendered useless by the punishing terrain.  The ability to survive and fair well in these events appeals to large fields of competitors, adding even more to the challenge of finishing on top.


Beginning in 2005, Toyo entered off road racing with its 37-inch Open Country M/T tires riding on the Fabtech / Toyo Tires® Ford F-150 of Jesse Jones which races in the unlimited Trick Truck category.  Hailing from Phoenix, Arizona, Jones immediately served notice to his competitors with his consistent ability to run at the front of the pack.  When the dust settled at the end of the season, Jones won the 2005 Best in the Desert Racing Association off-road racing championship.  This would be the first ever desert racing championship for Toyo.


When not competing in Baja, NASCAR® or Dakar®, Robby Gordon has also competed in select Best In The Desert series races.  Immediately after returning with his well-worn Hummer H3 racer from the 2006 Dakar, Gordon entered the truck in the Blue Water Resort and Casino Parker 425 in February.  Gordon won the Trick Truck class, making this a special event as it was the first time the Hummer had raced in North America.


In January of this year, Curt LeDuc became the newest member of Team Toyo Off-Road competing in Best In The Desert.  LeDuc wasted no time in trouncing the competition with his Class 8000 ROCKSTAR Energy Drink/Toyo Tires®/Skyjacker Ford truck.  Competing in the two wheel drive, production based class; LeDuc (with sons Todd and Kyle sharing co-driving) scored two consecutive Best In The Desert wins in the Blue Water Resort Parker 425 then the Terrible’s Town 250.  During the Terrible’s Town race near Pahrump, Nevada, LeDuc demoralized his competitors winning by nearly 30-minutes over the next vehicle in their class.


2007 will be another great year for Team Toyo Off-Road drivers in the Best In The Desert off-road racing series.  To learn more about the series, log on to