Dale Steyn is the 2008 Mutual & Federal SA Cricketer of the Year.

This was announced at the prestigious Mutual & Federal SA Cricket Awards gala dinner held at the Sandton Convention Centre on Tuesday, 17 June 2008. 

Congratulations to Dale for not only being our cricketer of the year but for being named the Castle Test Cricketer of the Year, SA Players’ of the Year and SuperSport Fans’ Cricketer of the Year.

The Mutual & Federal SA Cricket Awards recognise the achievements of players at all levels of the game, from Under-15 through to the SA National team and they also give recognition to the many men and women who work behind the scenes such as groundsmen, scorers, umpires and franchise coaches.

The Mutual & Federal SA Cricketer of the Year award has become the most prestigious means of recognition for individual achievement in South African cricket and Steyn follows an impressive list of previous winners in Jacques Kallis (2004), Makhaya Ntini (2005 and 2006) and Shaun Pollock (2007). Both Kallis and Ntini were also multiple award winners.

Through the “Wishes for Wickets” and “Rands for Runs” sponsorship from Mutual & Federal, Shaun Pollock raised R91 800 during the past season with his performance on the cricket field, which will go to Reach for a Dream.  The John Wesley School in Pinetown will receive a scoreboard and cricket mat, donated by Mutual & Federal on behalf of Shaun Pollock.

2008 Mutual & Federal SA CRICKET AWARDS - WINNERS

The full list of award winners is as follows :


  • PG Bison under-15 Player of the Tournament: Johann van der Merwe (Gauteng)
  • Under-17 Player of the Tournament: Bokang Mosena (Free State)
  • Coca-Cola Khaya Majola under-19 Player of the Tournament: Wayne Parnell (Eastern Province)
  • CSA under-19 Cricketer of the Year: Wayne Parnell (Eastern Province)
  • Student Cricketer of the Year: Chad Baxter (NMMU/Eastern Province)
  • Club Championship Player of the Year: Nathan Arthur (Burma Lads/Griqualand West)
  • Rural Cricketer of the Year: Jac O’Kelly (Gauteng)
  • Deaf Cricketer of the Year: Stephen Lombard (Northerns)
  • Intellectually Impaired Cricketer of the Year: Lee Benting (Boland)
  • SAA Provincial Amateur Cricketer of the Year: Wendell Bossenger (Griqualand West)
  • CSA Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Cri-Zelda Brits (North West)
  • Khaya Majola Amateur Cricket Award: Nathan Arthur (Burma Lads/Griqualand West)
  • Bakers’ Mini-Cricket Administrator of the Year: Helen van der Riet (Griqualand West)


Operations Awards

  • Mutual & Federal Coach of the Year: Corrie van Zyl (Gestetner Diamond Eagles)
  • Mutual & Federal Scorers’ Association of the Year: Gauteng Scorers’ Association
  • Mutual & Federal Umpire of the Year: Brian Jerling

Domestic Awards

  • SACA Most Valuable Player award: Johann Louw (Nashua Dolphins)
  • MTN Domestic Championship Cricketer of the Year: Juan Theron (Chevrolet Warriors)
  • Standard Bank Pro20 Cricketer of the Year: Charl Langeveldt (Nashua Cape Cobras)
  • SuperSport Series Cricketer of the Year: Monde Zondeki (Nashua Cape Cobras)
  • Domestic Newcomer of the Year: Roelof van der Merwe (Nashua Titans)
  • Domestic Players’ Player of the year: Dillon du Preez (Gestetner Diamond Eagles)

SA International Awards

  • Standard Bank ODI Cricketer of the Year: Graeme Smith
  • Standard Bank International Pro20 Cricketer of the Year: Albie Morkel
  • Castle Test Cricketer of the Year: Dale Steyn
  • SA Players’ Player of the Year: Dale Steyn
  • SuperSport Fans’ Cricketer of the Year: Dale Steyn
  • Mutual & Federal SA Cricketer of the Year: Dale Steyn

To view the media releases click here