Parliament of Victoria - Click here to go to the Parliament home page Parliament of Victoria Parliament of Victoria Photo of members at work  
graphic Find an MP Find an Electorate Create a list of MPs Committees Graphic  
  You Are Here:    Handbook  
Legislation & Bills
Members of Parliament
Legislative Council
Legislative Assembly
The Parliamentary Building
Our Democratic History
Sitting Dates
Parliamentary Services
Search Results

Hon. Denis Napthine
Party: Liberal Party
House: Legislative Assembly
Portfolio/Position: Shadow Minister for Ports, Shadow Minister for Regional Cities, Shadow Minister for Racing
Electorate:  South-West Coast
Electorate Office Address: 94 Liebig Street, Warrnambool 3280
Postal Address: PO Box 5075, Warrnambool 3280
Electorate Phone: (03) 5562 8230
Electorate Office Fax: (03) 5562 6145

Current Committees: LA Privileges Cttee since 2007.
Length of Service to date: 7249 days

Personal: Born 6 March 1952, Geelong, Victoria. Married, 3 children.
Birthplace: Australia
Education and Qualifications: Winchelsea State School. Chanel College. BVSc, MVSc (Melbourne), MACVSc, MBA (Deakin).
Parliamentary Service: Elected MLA for Portland October 1988. Re-elected 1992, 1996, 1999. Electorate abolished in 2002 redivision. Elected MLA for South-West Coast November 2002. Re-elected November 2006.
Parliamentary Party Positions: Leader of the Opposition October 1999-August 2002. Shadow Minister for Rural and Regional Development August-December 2002. Shadow Minister for State & Regional Development December 2002-January 2004. Shadow Minister for Rural & Regional Development January 2004-December 2005. Shadow Minister for Agriculture (Including Forestry) December 2005-May 2006. Shadow Minister for Water December 2005-December 2006. Shadow Minister for Agriculture May 2006-December 2006. Shadow Minister for Ports and Shadow Minister for Racing since December 2006. Shadow Minister for Regional and Rural Development December 2006-February 2008. Shadow Minister for Regional Cities since February 2008.
Party Positions: State Council representative 1984-88. Hamilton Branch President 1985-88.
Ministerial Appointments: Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Health 1992-96. Minister for Youth and Community Services 1996-99. Treasurer 7-20 October 1999.
Previous Occupation: Veterinary officer with Vic. Dept. of Agriculture 1975-87. Manager with Vic. Dept. of Agriculture & Rural Affairs 1987-88.
Previous Committee Service: Social Development Cttee 1988-92. Rural and Regional Services and Development Cttee 2003-06.
Memberships: Melbourne University Alumni Society; Hamilton Wine and Food Society; Friends of the Points Reserve and Autistic Association; Warrnambool Racing Club; Panmure Football/Netball Club; Tyrendarra Football/Netball Club.