The Bureau of the Organising Committee for the FIFA World Cup™ has decided to exclude the Ethiopian Football Federation (EFF) from the preliminary competition with immediate effect.

All four matches played by Ethiopia to date in African zone Group 8, as well as the results of these matches, are now cancelled. This group now comprises three teams: Morocco, Mauritania and Rwanda.

The FIFA Emergency Committee suspended the EFF on 29 July 2008 due to the non-compliance of the EFF with the roadmap agreed in February 2008 by FIFA, CAF and the EFF in order to normalise the situation of the federation. For more information please click on the link to the right hand side.