Search Email Updates Contact Us Residents Business Visitors Government Office of the Mayor always open
New York City Global Partners

Did you know that New York City has ten Sister Cities? They are (in chronological order through the year of establishment): Tokyo (1960), Beijing (1980), Madrid (1982), Cairo (1982), Santo Domingo (1983), Rome (1992), Budapest (1992), Jerusalem (1993), London (2001), and Johannesburg (2003). Whereas one may wonder at the diversity of our ten Sister Cities, one only needs to look beneath the surface of these ten unique cities to see how much they have in common with New York and her citizens. A sister city relationship is unique as it represents a formalized global partnership of cooperation, exchange, and mutual benefit between the two cities. New York City is proud to have such a relationship with ten cities.

Copyright 2008 The City of New York Contact Us | FAQs | Privacy Statement | Site Map