hubFS: THE place for F#

. . . are you on The Hub?
Welcome to hubFS: THE place for F# Sign in | Join | Help
in Search

Dandy - A 2D game written in F#

Last post 06-16-2007, 11:09 by jonh. 11 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  05-21-2006, 18:41 269

Dandy - A 2D game written in F#

Hello! My name is Jack Palevich, and I am a developer at Microsoft. In my day job I work on graphics libraries and tools for the Xbox 360, but as a hobby I like to write video games.

Most games are written in C or C++, with some migration to C#. While those are very good languages, I'm always on the lookout for something new. I see a lot of potential in F#. It's based on OCaml, which seems to have been used successfully in several small hobby game engines. To help myself learn F# I wrote a simple 2D video game in F#.

(I'm having trouble attaching the ZIP file to this message. Look for a follow-up message that includes the zip file.)

(Below are some excerpts from the manual that's included in the ZIP file.)

Welcome to Dandy Dungeon

Dandy Dungeon is a 1-to-4 player cooperative action adventure game. I originally wrote it in 1983 in 6502 assembly language for the Atari 800. Since then I've ported it to different environments and languages. Its graphics are quite primitive by modern standards, but the gameplay is still enjoyable, especially when two or more people are playing.

Comparing Implementation Languages

For fun I have recently implemented Dandy in several different computer languages. You might think it’s a little bit obsessive-compulsive to keep writing the same game over again. But I found it helpful for understanding the differences in performance and development time. Here are some notes:

6502 Assembly Language on the Atari 800