Contact ALALogin
American Library Association
Skip Navigation ALSC Home Contact Us Sitemap Support ALSC Join ALSC

About ALSC
Awards & Grants
 ALSC Book & Media Awards
  Newbery Medal
  Caldecott Medal
  ALSC May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award
  Batchelder Award
  Pura Belpré Medal
  Carnegie Medal
  Geisel Award
  Odyssey Award
  Sibert Medal
  Wilder Medal
   About the Wilder Medal
   Wilder Medal Terms & Criteria
   Wilder Medal Selection Committee Members
   Wilder Medal Past Winners
 Children's Notable Lists
 Professional Awards
Conferences & Events
Education & Careers
Issues and Advocacy
Communications and Publications
Great Websites for Kids

image of Wilder MedalWelcome to the (Laura Ingalls) Wilder Award home page!

The Wilder Award honors an author or illustrator whose books, published in the United States, have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children

2007 Medal Winner

ImageAuthor/illustrator James Marshall has been awarded the 2007 Laura Ingalls Wilder Award. Marshall was the author and illustrator of the “George and Martha” books, the “Fox” easy reader series, “The Cut-Ups” and “Goldilocks and the Three Bears” – a Caldecott honor winner in 1989. He also illustrated the “Miss Nelson” books and “The Stupids” series, written by Harry Allard. Marshall died in 1992.

“Marshall conveyed a world of emotion with the placement of a dot or the wrinkle of a line,” said Wilder Award Committee Chair Roger Sutton. “In both his drawings and impeccably succinct texts, he displayed a comic genius infused with wit and kindness.”  

The Wilder Award honors an author or illustrator, published in the United States, whose books have made a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children. The award was announced January 22 at the American Library Association (ALA) Midwinter Meeting in Seattle. The award is administered by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the ALA, and is named for its first recipient in 1954. 


Born in San Antonio in 1942, Marshall was a self-taught artist. After an injury cut short his pursuit of a career in music playing the viola, he found his life’s work in children’s books. His first book was “Plink, Plink, Plink,” written by Byrd Baylor and published by Houghton in 1971.


ImageDrawing from a career that spanned just over 20 years, dozens of Marshall’s books remain favorites with audiences ranging from young children to college students and adults. The enduring friendship of George and Martha, the wily grace of Fox, the irrepressible resilience of the Stanley Q. Stupid family and the benevolent dictatorship of Miss Nelson (aka Viola Swamp) are testimonies to human nature in all its complexity.


In an introduction to the collected “George and Martha” books, Maurice Sendak writes that “Marshall is the last of a long line of masters that began in the late 19th century with the preeminent English illustrator Randolph Caldecott; then continued in our century with Jean de Brunhoff in France and Edward Ardizzone in England; and then via Tomi Ungerer arrived full blast in America, where the laurel leaf settled finally, splendidly, on the judicious, humane, witty, and astonishingly clever head of James Marshall.”

In “George and Martha: One Fine Day,” George the hippo offers some wisdom that speaks as much of his creator as it does to Martha: “If you love what you do, you’ll be very good at it too.”


Members of the 2007 Wilder committee are: Chair Roger Sutton, The Horn Book, Boston; Ann Carlson, Oak Park and River Forest High School, Oak Park, Ill.; Yapha Mason, Brentwood School, Los Angeles; Bernadette Nowakowski, Chicago Public Library; and Tish Wilson, Dayton (Ohio) Metro Library.

The Wilder Award is administered by ALSC and is named for its first recipient in 1954.


Association for Library Service to Children

50 E. Huron
Chicago, IL 60611 
Toll Free 1-800-545-2433, x2163

© 2008 American Library Association. Copyright Statement


ALSC, Children's literature, Newbery, Caldecott
ALSC Home page