Human Space Flight WebHuman Space Flight WebHuman Space Flight WebHuman Space Flight WebHuman Space Flight WebHuman Space Flight WebHuman Space Flight WebHuman Space Flight WebHuman Space Flight Web
Skip navigation to content.
Human Space Flight WebReturn to Human Space Flight home page
Human Space Flight Web
Human Space Flight Web

Expedition 9: Home | EVA | Timelines | Experiments

Expedition 9 Spacewalks

The Expedition 9 crew conducted four spacewalks during its stay at the International Space Station. The four spacewalks were devoted to ISS maintenance and assembly. All four were based out of the Pirs Docking Compartment and used Russian Orlan spacesuits.

After these four extravehicular activities (EVAs), 56 spacewalks had been performed at the ISS, with 31 based out of the Station.

Learn more about the spacewalks required to build the International Space Station.

EVA Cosmonauts and Astronauts and Suit ID
Gennady Padalka (EV1): red stripes
Mike Fincke (EV2): blue stripes

Spacewalk 1
Gennady Padalka, Mike Fincke
Time: 14 minutes, 22 seconds
Start time: 4:56 p.m. CDT (2156 GMT) June 24, 2004
End time: 5:10 p.m. CDT (2210 GMT) June 24, 2004

The spacewalk was cut short due to a pressure problem in Fincke's prime oxygen tank in his spacesuit. Mission managers decided to reschedule the spacewalk for June 30.

Spacewalk 2
Gennady Padalka, Mike Fincke
Time: 5 hours, 40 minutes
Start time: 4:19 p.m. CDT (2119 GMT) June 30, 2004
End time: 9:59 p.m. CDT June 30, 2004 (0259 GMT July 1, 2004)

Padalka and Fincke replaced a Remote Power Controller (RPC) that failed in late April, causing a loss of power in Control Moment Gyroscope No. 2 (CMG 2). The gyroscope is one of four that control the ISS' orientation.

Spacewalk 3
Gennady Padalka, Mike Fincke
Time: 4 hours, 30 minutes
Start time: 1:58 a.m. CDT (0658 GMT) Aug. 3, 2004
End time: 6:28 a.m. CDT (1128 GMT) Aug. 3, 2004

In preparation for the arrival of the European Space Agency's Automated Transfer Vehicle (ATV), Padalka and Fincke removed laser retro reflectors from the Zvezda Service Module assembly compartment and installed three updated laser retro reflectors and one internal videometer target. They installed two antennas.

The spacewalkers removed Kromka Panel No. 2 and installed Kromka Panel No. 3. The Kromka experiment exposes various materials to the space environment. They also replaced another materials science experiment.

Spacewalk 4
Gennady Padalka, Mike Fincke
Time: 5 hours, 21 minutes
Start time: 11:43 a.m. CDT (1643 GMT) Sept. 3, 2004
End time: 5:04 p.m. CDT (2204 GMT) Sept. 3, 2004

Expedition 9's fourth EVA continued preparing the Station for future assembly operations and the arrival of the ATV. The spacewalkers replaced the Zarya Control Module flow control panel and installed four safety tether fairleads on Zarya's handrails.

ATV support operations included installing three communications antennas and removing all covers from the antennas.

EVA Details
Related Links
*Expedition 9 Press Kit
*Pirs Docking Compartment
*Zvezda Service Module
EVA Briefing Materials
*Expedition 9 EVAs 1 and 2
*Expedition 9 EVA 3
*Expedition 9 EVA 4

Curator: Kim Dismukes | Responsible NASA Official: John Ira Petty | Updated: 03/21/2005
Web Accessibility and Policy Notices