50 Years of WHO




Member States


Areas of Work








50 Years of WHO in South East Asia

1948 - 1957 :  The Second Decade


....The Second Decade


The Prime Minister of Sri Lanka, Mr S.W.R.D Bandaranaike, inaugurated the 12th session of the WHO Regional Committee for South-East Asia on 23 September 1959. Mr Bandaranaike (left) is being greeted by Dr C. Mani, WHO Regional Director, as he arrives to inaugurate the meeting.

At the Fourteenth World Health Assembly, New Delhi, 1961. Left to right: Sir Arcot Lakshmanaswami Mudaliar (India), President of the Assembly, Dr C. Mani, Dr M.G. Candau, and Prime Minister Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru.


WHO assistance to ‘Portuguese India

When SEARO was established in 1948, Portugal was still in possession of the territories of Goa, Diu, Daman, Dadra and Nagar Haveli in India. Portugal, therefore, attended the Regional Committee meetings representing what was known as Portuguese India. WHO assisted the territories until 1961 when these areas reverted to India.

 The Mudaliar twins and WHO

The name Mudaliar is closely associated with the World Health Organization. Sir Arcot Ramaswami Mudaliar was the Chairman of Commission II, Committee 3, which was to consider the economic and social problems at the UN Conference on International Organization, held in San Francisco in 1945. It was at this Committee that the joint declaration of the delegations of Brazil and China was adopted, calling for the establishment of an international health organization. He later attended, as President of the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) of the UN, the International Health Conference in June-July 1946 at which the World Health Organization was formed. Sir Arcot Ramaswami Mudaliar’s twin brother, Sir Arcot Lakshmanaswami Mudaliar, attended the First World Health Assembly in Geneva in 1948 as the Deputy Leader of the Indian delegation. He was elected Chairman of the WHO Executive Board in 1949 and 1950, was Vice-President of the Eighth World Health Assembly in 1955 and President of the Fourteenth World Health Assembly.





| | | | | |