PER LAURSEN has topped the Danish Darts League rankings to win a place in the 2009 World Darts Championship.

Laursen has been the Danish number one for the past two years to represent his country in the World Championship, and will make it a treble at Alexandra Palace next month.

He finished clear of Vladimir Andersen at the top of the standings following

He defeated Andersen in the final of Saturday's penultimate qualifying event to confirm his spot in the World Championship.

A total of 16 tournaments were played throughout the year, with Laursen claiming 207 points, 44 ahead of Andersen and 57 clear of third-placed Jann Hoffmann.

Laursen, 42, reached the second round of the 2007 World Championship, losing 4-3 to Dennis Priestley following a win over Colin Monk at the Circus Tavern.

He was a first round loser 12 months ago, going down to Alan Tabern at Alexandra Palace.

Danish Darts League - 2008 Top Ten
1 Per Laursen 207 pts
2 Vladimir Andersen 163 pts
3 Jann Hoffmann 150 pts
4 Stig Jorgensen 142 pts
5 Soren Hedegaard 118 pts
6 Lean Jensen 100 pts
7 Steen Lubcke 91 pts
8 Torben Andersen 89 pts
9 Lars Helsinghof 85 pts
10 Lars Andersen 83 pts

* Tickets for the World Darts Championship are still available from or by calling 0871 231 0831.