All Results

Winners Index

Club History


Final Details

 1910 Newcastle Utd.
 1911 Bradford City
 1912 Barnsley
 1913 Aston Villa
 1914 Burnley
 1915 Sheffield Utd

















Saturday 22nd April - Crystal Palace

Bradford City 0 Newcastle United 0


Replay Wednesday 26th April - Old Trafford

Bradford City 1 Newcastle United 0


Bradford City


Mellors; Campbell, Taylor; Robinson. Torrance, McDonald; Logan, Spiers, O'Rourke, Devine, Thompson. (Gildea played centre-half in the first match.)

Newcastle United

Lawrence; McCracken, Whitson,  Veitch, Low, Willis; Rutherford. Jobey, Stewart. Higgins. Wilson

Referee: J. H. Pearson

Attendance: 22/04   - 69,098  26/04 - 58,000


In July 1910 the Football Association Challenge Cup, having been duplicated without the consent of the Association, was withdrawn from the competition and a new Cup offered. This third trophy was the work of Messrs Fattorini & Sons of Bradford - how appropriate, therefore, that its first winners should be Bradford City.

Crystal Palace during the 0-0 draw

In the 1911 Final, Newcastle once more failed to do themselves justice at Crystal Palace. An uneventful, goalless match led to a replay for the second successive year. This time it was held in Manchester, where a bad mistake by Lawrence, the Newcastle goalkeeper, gave Bradford's centre-forward O'Rourke the chance to score the only goal of the game with about fifteen minutes gone and thousands still clamouring to get into the Old Trafford ground.


Bradford City's winning replay goal scored by J H Speirs

The attendance of 66,646 was the highest for a midweek match in England; those who failed to gain entry missed little beyond an exhibition of hard, forthright tackling by both sides. The Bradford defence again performed heroically, and centre-half Torrance, who had missed the match at Crystal Palace, was outstanding.

Bradford, with a team containing eight Scotsmen, had therefore achieved in their first and only Final what Newcastle had been struggling to do for so long.

The new FA Cup made in Bradford, being presented to the winners Bradford!


Round By Round

First Round

New Brompton v Bradford PA 0-1; Norwich C v Sunderland 3-1; GrimsbyT v Croydon C 3-0; Bristol C v Crewe Alex 0-3; Burnley v Exeter C 2-1; Watford v Barnsley 0-2; Sheff Wed v Coventry C 1 -2; Leeds C v Brighton & H Alb 1 -3; Southend Utd v Blackburn R 1 -5; Spurs v Millwall Ath 2-1; Middlesbro v Glossop 1 -0; Leicester Fosse v Southampton 3-1; W Ham v Nott'm Forest 2-1; Brentford v PNE 0-1; Blackpool v Man Utd 1-2; Portsmouth v Aston Villa 1-4; NEWCASTLE UTD v Bury 6-1; Northampton T v Luton 5-1; Bristol R v Hull C 0-0. 0-1; Birmingham v Oldham Ath 1 -1. 0-2; Derby Co v Plymouth Arg 2-1; WBA v Fulham 4-1; Crystal Palace v Everton 0-4; Liverpool v Gainsboro Tr 3-2; Chelsea v Leyton 0-0, 2-0; Bolton Wand v Chesterfield 0-2; Wolves v Accrington S 2-0; Stoke v Man C 1 -2; Swindon v Notts Co 3-1; Clapton Orient v Woolwich Arsenal 1-2; Sheff Utd v Darlington 0-1; BRADFORD C v QPR 5-3


Second Round

BRADFORD C v Norwich C 2-1; Crewe Alex v Grimsby T 1 -5; Burnley v Barnsley 2-0; Brighton v Coventry C 0-0, 0-2; Blackburn R v Spurs 0-0. 2-0; Middlesbro v Leicester Fosse 0-0, 2-1; WHam v PNE 3-0; Man Utd v Aston Villa 2-1; NEWCASTLE UTD v Northampton 1-1.1-0; HulI C v Oldham Ath 1 -0; Derby Co v WBA 2-0; Everton v Liverpool 2-1; Chesterfield v Chelsea 1-4; Wolves v Man C 1 -0; Swindon v Woolwich Arsenal 1 -0; Darlington v Bradford PA 2-1


Third Round

BRADFORD C v Grimsby T 1 -0; Burnley v Coventry C 5-0; Middlesbro v Blackburn R 0-3; W Ham v Man Utd 2-1; NEWCASTLE UTD v Hull C 3-2; Derby Co v Everton 5-0; Wolves v Chelsea 0-2; Darlington v Swindon 0�3


Fourth Round

BRADFORD C v Burnley 1 -0; W Ham v Blackburn R 2-3; NEWCASTLE UTD v Derby Co 4-0; Chelsea v Swindon 3-1



BRADFORD C v Blackburn R 3-0; NEWCASTLE UTD v Chelsea 3-0


FA  Cup Winners
11 Manchester Utd 
10 Arsenal
8 Tottenham Hotspur
7 Aston Villa
7 Liverpool
6 Blackburn Rovers
6 Newcastle United
5 Everton
5 The Wanderers
5 W. B .A
Bolton Wanderers
4 Manchester City
4 Sheffield United
4 Wolverhampton Wanderers
4 Chelsea
3 Sheffield Wednesday
3 West Ham United
2 Bury
2 Nottingham Forest
2 Old Etonians
2 Preston North End
2 Sunderland
2 Portsmouth
1 Barnsley
1 Blackburn Olympic
1 Blackpool
1 Bradford City
1 Burnley
1 Cardiff City
1 Charlton Athletic
1 Clapham Rovers
1 Coventry City
1 Derby County
1 Huddersfield Town
1 Ipswich Town
1 Leeds United
1 Notts County
1 Old Carthusians
1 Oxford University
1 Royal Engineers
1 Southampton