South Australia v Victoria
Sheffield Shield 1922/23
VenueAdelaide Oval on 16th, 17th, 19th, 20th February 1923 (timeless match)
Balls per over8
TossSouth Australia won the toss and decided to bat
ResultVictoria won by 7 wickets
PointsSouth Australia -1; Victoria 1
UmpiresTW Cook, GA Hele
Close of play day 1Victoria (1) 10/1 (Woodfull 9*, Ellis 1*)
Close of play day 2Victoria (1) 308/7 (Mayne 10*, Liddicut 8*)
Close of play day 3South Australia (2) 209/5 (Murray 110*)

South Australia first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AJ Richardsonc Liddicut b Carlton5    
FK Gouldc Ellis b Wallace21    
VY Richardsonst Ellis b Hartkopf95    
CE Pellewlbw b Wallace0    
JT Murrayrun out (Willis)6    
*C Hillc Love b Hartkopf66    
NL Williamsc Willis b Hartkopf19    
+RL Bennettb Wallace0    
WJ Whittyrun out (Ponsford)43    
HM Fisherst Ellis b Hartkopf0    
EJ Carraghernot out17    
Extras(1 b, 2 lb)3
Total(all out, 250 minutes, 58.3 overs)275
Fall of wickets:
1-15 (AJ Richardson), 2-33 (Gould), 3-33 (Pellew), 4-41 (Murray), 5-190 (VY Richardson), 6-212 (Hill), 7-213 (Williams), 8-213 (Bennett), 9-214 (Fisher), 10-275 (Whitty, 58.3 ov)
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wallace14   0773--
Carlton12   1491--
Liddicut12   2330--
Hartkopf17   01054--

Victoria first inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
WM Woodfullc VY Richardson b Whitty123    
HSB Loveb Fisher0    
+JL Ellisc Gould b Carragher17    
AEV Hartkopfrun out (VY Richardson->Bennett)14    
WH Ponsfordb AJ Richardson108    
VS Ransfordb Whitty6    
CB Willisb Carragher18    
*ER Maynerun out (?->Bennett)40    
AE Liddicutc AJ Richardson b Whitty28    
TA Carltonc VY Richardson b AJ Richardson20    
PH Wallacenot out1    
Extras(9 b, 2 lb)11
Total(all out, 351 minutes, 95.5 overs)386
Fall of wickets:
1-4 (Love), 2-48 (Ellis), 3-84 (Hartkopf), 4-217 (Woodfull), 5-241 (Ransford), 6-273 (Willis), 7-293 (Ponsford), 8-341 (Liddicut), 9-383 (Carlton), 10-386 (Mayne, 95.5 ov)
South Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Whitty25   5723--
Fisher15   3611--
Carragher22   11022--
AJ Richardson23.54832--
Williams7   0430--
Pellew3   0140--

South Australia second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
AJ Richardsonc Ellis b Liddicut32    
FK Gouldc Mayne b Wallace4    
VY Richardsonb Carlton5    
JT Murrayb Carlton152    
*C Hillb Ransford39    
CE Pellewc Liddicut b Carlton12    
NL Williamsc Ellis b Wallace7    
WJ Whittyb Carlton11    
+RL Bennettb Carlton14    
HM Fisherc Ellis b Hartkopf12    
EJ Carraghernot out4    
Extras(4 b, 6 lb, 1 w)11
Total(all out, 272 minutes, 63.2 overs)303
Fall of wickets:
1-5 (Gould), 2-18 (VY Richardson), 3-86 (AJ Richardson), 4-167 (Hill), 5-209 (Pellew), 6-226 (Williams), 7-257 (Whitty), 8-278 (Murray), 9-293 (Bennett), 10-303 (Fisher, 63.2 ov)
Victoria bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Wallace11   1492--
Carlton17   2675--
Liddicut8   32511-
Ransford5   0191--

Victoria second inningsRunsBallsMins4s6s
*ER Maynelbw b Fisher1    
WM Woodfullnot out94    
WH Ponsfordc VY Richardson b AJ Richardson17    
HSB Lovelbw b Fisher70    
VS Ransfordnot out5    
+JL Ellisdid not bat 
AEV Hartkopfdid not bat 
CB Willisdid not bat 
AE Liddicutdid not bat 
TA Carltondid not bat 
PH Wallacedid not bat 
Extras(4 b, 2 nb)6
Total(3 wickets, 149 minutes, 37.5 overs)193
Fall of wickets:
1-3 (Mayne), 2-44 (Ponsford), 3-176 (Love)
South Australia bowlingOversMdnsRunsWktsWidesNo-Balls
Whitty10   0460--
Fisher8   0312--
AJ Richardson11   1511--
Carragher3   0220--

--> VY Richardson (1) passed 1500 runs in First-Class Matches when he reached 60
--> EJ Carragher made his debut in First-Class Matches
--> JT Murray (2) passed his previous highest First-Class Matches score of 133
--> TA Carlton reached 100 wickets in First-Class Matches when he dismissed AJ Richardson, his 1st wicket in the South Australia first innings
--> AEV Hartkopf reached 50 wickets in First-Class Matches when he dismissed HM Fisher, his 1st wicket in the South Australia second innings

12th Men: JW Rymill (SA) and JL Keating (Vic)
Crowds: 5582, 11851, 5643, 3085. Total: 26,161. Receipts: 1310 pounds

This page was created by the CricketArchive Oracles
Copyright © 2003-2008 CricketArchive CricketArchive Homepage Seasons Players Countries Grounds Records Tournaments Search Shop Contact www.cricketarchive.com