Skip to Main Content U.S. Department of Energy
Environmental Technology Directorate

Landis Kannberg

Environmental Technology Directorate
(541) 713-1326


Dr. Kannberg conducted research into environmental heat and mass transfer upon joining Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL) in 1976. PNNL is operated by Battelle for the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). He successively managed programs funded by DOE in Compressed Air Energy Storage and subsequently Thermal Energy Storage. In 2002, he initiated the Advanced Communications and Controls Program for DOE, becoming a Presidential Initiative, GridWise, in 2004. He has served as advisor to the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (on Infrastructure Protection), and to the Secretary of Energy Advisory Board Task Force on Electric System Reliability. He directs micro chemical and physical systems programmatic development at PNNL and Battelle. He is Co-Director of the Microproducts Breakthrough Institute, a joint research institute with Oregon State University.

Education and Credentials

  • Ph.D., Mechanical Engineering, 1977, Oregon State University
  • B.S., Mechanical Engineering, 1972, Gonzaga University

Affiliations and Professional Service

  • Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, having roles such as Chairman of the Advanced Energy Systems Division and as Chairman of the ASME Energy Committee wherein he provided testimony in Congress on Energy R&D; budgets on behalf of ASME
  • 2002, Tri-City Mechanical Engineer
  • Phi Tau Sigma Honorary Mechnical Engineers Fraternity

Awards and Recognitions

  • 2002, American Society of Mechanical Engineers Columbia Basin Engineer of the Year
  • 2003, Oregon State University, Academy of Distinguished Engineers

Selected Publications


Environmental Technology Directorate

Additional Information

Search this Site

What's New

September 28, 2007
Toxic Metals Find New Sorbent Method Very Attractive

September 28, 2007
Kriston Brooks Praised for Work on Pit Disassembly and Conversion Facility

September 28, 2007
Wassana Yantasee Receives Ronald L. Brodzinski Award

September 25, 2007
Steve Miller Receives Lab Director's Award for Exceptional Engineering Achievement