British Broadcasting Corporation

BBC Sport football

Watch Sport news bulletin

Related BBC sites

Page last updated at 20:30 GMT, Thursday, 15 January 2009

Fifa sets World Cup bid deadline

World Cup trophy
England's 2018 bid has a �15m budget

Fifa has set a deadline of 2 February for bidders for the 2018 and 2022 World Cups to express their interest.

England, Spain and Portugal, Holland and Belgium, Australia, China, Mexico and Russia have previously signalled a desire to stage one or other event.

Any successful host will need to have at least 12 stadiums with minimum capacities of 40,000, and the final must be held in an 80,000 ground.

Fifa will announce the successful 2018 and 2022 hosts in December 2010.

In 2007 Fifa ended its policy of rotating the World Cup from continent to continent.


Countries are barred from bidding to stage the event if they are located in a continent that has hosted one of the two previous tournaments.

With South Africa hosting the 2010 competition, African nations will not be able to bid for the 2018 World Cup.

And South American countries will not be considered for either 2018 or 2022 as Brazil is hosting the 2014 World Cup.

Print Sponsor

see also
FA appoints 2018 bid team members
06 Jan 09 |  Internationals
Tennis chief handed 2018 bid role
20 Nov 08 |  Internationals
Kenyon calls for 2018 bid unity
11 Nov 08 |  Football
FA chief targets top-flight cash
05 Nov 08 |  Premier League
Beckham and Barnes join 2018 bid
19 Oct 08 |  Internationals
Gill & Mawhinney join 2018 board
12 Oct 08 |  Internationals
England gets Beckenbauer backing
29 Jul 07 |  Football
Blatter knocks England 2018 hopes
28 Feb 07 |  Internationals

Explore the BBC

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.