Match Officials

The Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires and Referees comprises the top umpires in the world. To ensure the highest possible standards and guarantee impartial adjudication, two umpires from the Emirates Elite Panel stand in almost all Test matches around the world, while one member stands with a home umpire from the Emirates International Panel of ICC Umpires for One-Day International matches.

On average, each member of the Emirates Elite Panel annually stands in 8-10 Test matches and 10-15 ODIs, plus any ICC World events in that year - a potential on-field workload of 75 days plus travel and preparation time, per year. The composition of the Panel is reviewed every year and announced on April 1. These selected officials are contracted to work for the ICC on a full-time basis in a programme shared with their Home Boards.

The ICC supports the ongoing development of all international officials through the appointment of Regional Umpiring Performance Managers, by bringing them together for training on an annual basis, by employing a full-time digital video specialist to help review decisions, and by conducting regular reviews in Dubai as they pass through on assignment.

The Emirates Elite Panel was first introduced in April 2002. The current panel of Umpires and Referees is:

Emirates Elite Panel Umpires

  • Asoka De Silva
  • Steve Davis
  • Aleem Dar
  • Asad Rauf
  • Mark Benson
  • Brent Bowden
  • Steve Bucknor
  • Billy Doctrove
  • Daryl Harper
  • Rudi Koertzen
  • Simon Taufel

  • Match Referees
  • Chris Broad
  • Jeff Crowe
  • Alan Hurst
  • Ranjan Madugalle
  • Roshan Mahanama
  • Javagal Srinath

  • Emirates International Panel of Umpires

    The Emirates International Panel of ICC Umpires comprises two officials nominated from each of the ten Test playing cricket boards.

    Emirates International Panel members stand in One-Day International matches in their home country, as well as assisting the Emirates Elite Panel at peak times in the cricket calendar when they can be appointed to overseas ODI and Test matches. Emirates International Panel members also undertake overseas umpiring assignments in ICC events such as the World Twenty20; Champions Trophy and the ICC U/19 Cricket World Cup to allow them to gain experience of the different conditions around the world, and speed up the learning process in readiness for potential elevation to the Emirates Elite Panel.

    As well as nominating two on-field International Panel umpires, each Test-playing country must also nominate a 3rd umpire. These officials are not usually appointed to on-field duties at international level, but are all first-class umpires in their own county. This position is another one of the steps on the road to becoming a member of the Emirate Elite Panel of ICC Umpires.

      Onfield Onfield 3rd Umpire 3rd Umpire
    Australia Bruce Oxenford Rodney Tucker Paul Reiffel  
    Bangladesh Nadir Shah Enamul Hoque-Moni Aktar Uddin  
    England Ian Gould Nigel Llong Peter Hartley Richard Kettleborough
    India Amish Saheba Suresh Shastri SK Tarapore  
    New Zealand Gary Baxter Tony Hill Evan Watkin  
    Pakistan Zameer Haider Nadeem Ghauri Ahsan Raza  
    South Africa Marais Erasmus Brian Jerling Ian Howell Karl Hurter
    Sri Lanka Gamini Silva Tyrone Wijewardene Kumar Dharmasena  
    West Indies Clyde Duncan Norman Malcolm Clancy Mack Goalande Greaves
    Zimbabwe Kevan Barbour Russell Tiffin    

    Associate and Affiliate International Umpires Panel

    The inaugural Associate and Affiliate International Umpires Panel was formed in June 2006.

    It superseded the ICC Associate and Affiliate Panel, created in 2005, and serves as the pinnacle for umpires from non-Test playing Members, with selection achieved through each of the five ICC Development Program Regional Umpires Panels.

    Members of the Associate and Affiliate International Umpires Panel are eligible for appointments to ODIs involving ICC Associate Members, ICC Intercontinental Cup matches and other Associate and Affiliate tournaments. High-performing umpires may also be considered for other ICC events, including the ICC U/19 Cricket World Cup, and could also be invited to be involved in the ICC Champions Trophy and ICC Cricket World Cup.

    Europe Niels Bagh
    Europe Paul Baldwin
    Americas Karran Bayney
    Americas Rogel Dill
    East Asia Pacific Shahul Hameed
    Africa Jeff Luck
    Africa Subash Modi
    Asia Buddhi Pradaan
    Asia Sarika Prasad
    Europe Ian Ramage

    Regional Umpire Performance Managers

    Bob Stratford assigned to Pacific
    Ian Robinson assigned to Africa
    Arani Jayaprakash assigned to Asia including Bangladesh & India
    Peter Manuel assigned to Asia including Pakistan & Sri Lanka
    John Holder assigned to America & Europe