Symposium Awards

The General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award

The General James E. Hill Lifetime Space Achievement Award is the highest honor bestowed by the Space Foundation. It is presented annually in honor of its late, long-time chairman, retired U.S. Air Force General James E. Hill, at a special luncheon held during the National Space Symposium in Colorado Springs. The award recognizes outstanding individuals who have distinguished themselves through lifetime contributions to the welfare of betterment of humankind through the exploration, development and use of space, or the use of space technology, information, themes or resources in academic, cultural, industrial or other pursuits of broad benefit to humanity. Nominations are solicited throughout the space industry worldwide, with the Space Foundation's Board of Directors selecting the honoree.

Past Recipients Include
2008 Hans Mark, Ph.D.
2007 Simon Ramo, Ph.D.
2006 Buzz Aldrin, Ph.D.
2005 The Honorable Edward Aldridge, Jr.
2004 Gen. Bernard A. Schriever, USAF (Retired)
2003 Capt. James A. Lovell, Jr., USN (Retired)
2002 Norman R. Augustine

Alan Shepard Technology in Education Award

The Space Foundation, in partnership with the Astronauts Memorial Foundation (AMF) and NASA, annually presents the Alan Shepard Technology in Education Award for outstanding contributions made by K-12 educators or district level personnel to educational technology. The award recognizes excellence in the development and application of technology in the classroom or to the professional development of teachers. The recipient demonstrates exemplary use of technology either to foster lifelong learners or to make the learning process easier. The Alan Shepard Technology in Education Award is presented annually at the National Space Symposium.

Past Recipients Include
2008 Kevin L. Simmons
2007 Luther W. Richardson
2006 Kathy R. Brandon
2005 Ronald F. Dantowitz
2004 Charles Geach
2003 Brian Copes
2002 Thomas F. Hunt, Frank E. Waller
2001 Lori Byrnes

Douglas S. Morrow Public Outreach Award

The Space Foundation annually presents the Douglas S. Morrow Public Outreach Award in memory of the late Douglas S. Morrow, renowned Academy Award winning writer and producer, space advocate, and former Space Foundation Board Member, to an individual or organization who has made significant contributions to public awareness of space programs. The Douglas S. Morrow Public Outreach Award is presented annually at the National Space Symposium.

Past Recipients Include
2008 Delaware North Companies Parks & Resorts
2007 Col. Eileen M. Collins, USAF (Retired)
2006 Tom Hanks
2005 The Ansari X-Prize Foundation
2004 LIFE Magazine
2003 Robert T. McCall

2002 The late Gene Roddenberry and Majel Barrett Roddenberry
2001 Popular Science Magazine
2000 Space Awareness Alliance
1999 The Crew of the Space Shuttle Mission STS-95
1998 NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory
1997 The Cable News Network (CNN)
1996 The Apollo 13 Movie Team
1995 Discovery Communication, Inc.

Space Achievement Award

The Space Foundation's Space Achievement Award recognizes individuals or organizations that have demonstrated space achievement, breakthrough space technology, or program or product success representing critical milestones in the evolution of space exploration and development. The Space Achievement Award is presented annually at the National Space Symposium.

Past Recipients Include
2008 United States Air Force
2007 Bigelow Aerospace
2006 The U.S. Titan Launch Vehicle Team: Lockheed Martin, United States Air Force,  The Aerospace Corporation, NASA
2005  The Inertial Upper Stage Team: The Boeing Company, United States Air Force, The Aerospace Corporation, NASA

2005 SpaceShipOneTeam

2004 Ariane 4 Launch Team
2003 U.S. Air Force Evolved Expendable Launch Vehicle Team; Lockheed Martin Evolved Expendable Launch Vehicle Team; The Boeing Company Evolved
 Expendable Launch Vehicle Team
2002 NASA/Industry Galileo Space Probe Team and the men and women of
  United States Space Command and its component organizations
2001 Hubble Space Telescope Team
2000 Sea Launch
1999 NASA-Boeing International Space Station Team
1998 Gen. Thomas S. Moorman, Jr., USAF (Retired)
1997 Capt. James Lovell, USN (Retired)
1996 American Astronautical Society
1995 Air University

John L. "Jack" Swigert, Jr., Award for Space Exploration

The Space Foundation was founded in 1983, in part to honor the memory and accomplishments of astronaut John L. 'Jack' Swigert, Jr. A Colorado native, Swigert served with retired U.S. Navy Captain James Lovell and Fred Haise on the legendary Apollo 13 lunar mission, which was aborted after the perilous rupture of an oxygen tank en route to the moon. People around the world watched as NASA overcame tremendous odds to return the crew safely to Earth. The Space Foundation created the Jack Swigert Award for Space Exploration in 2004 in tribute to his enduring legacy of space exploration. The Jack Swigert Award is the presented annually at the National Space Symposium.

Past Recipients Include
2008 Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency
2007 The California Institute of Technology
2006 NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory
2005 NASA's Mars Exploration Team from JPL
2004 President George W. Bush

Space Technology Hall of Fame

The Space Technology Hall of Fame now enters its 22nd year of honoring those who quietly transform technology originally developed for space exploration into products that help improve the quality of life here on Earth. Induction into the Space Technology Hall of Fame affords space technology innovators much deserved recognition. It also serves to increase public awareness and encourage further innovation. Since 1988, the Space Foundation, in cooperation with NASA, has proudly conducted the Space Technology Hall of Fame, inducting more than 40 technologies and honoring hundreds of organizations and individuals for their efforts.
For a complete list of inducted technologies, visit the Space Technology Hall of Fame Web site:

Quick Event Resources

Spotlight on The Broadmoor Hotel

The Broadmoor Hotel

The BROADMOOR Hotel is the longest-running consecutive winner of both the AAA Five-Diamond and the Mobil Travel Guide Five-Star awards. The pet-friendly resort is located on 3,000 lush acres under the shadow of Cheyenne Mountain and offers an award-winning spa, fitness center More...

Thank You to our Co-sponsors