English Francais Italiano
Heineken Cup Home
European Challenge Cup
Fans Poll
Which quarter-final pairing will produce the winner of the Heinken Cup?
Cardiff Blues v Toulouse
Munster v Ospreys
Quins v Leinster
Leicester v Bath
Previous Poll Results

Which team will be the first to qualify for the Heineken Cup quarter-finals?
Munster (52%)
Toulouse (15%)
Cardiff Blues (13%)
Harlequins (8%)
Leinster (6%)
Leicester Tigers (4%)
Ospreys (3%)

This is the image banner
The Seventh Heineken Cup Final
15 - 9
Millennium Stadium, Cardiff   Att: 74,600
Referee: Joel Jutge
Saturday 25th May 2002, 14:00
Match report
Leicester became the only side to claim the Heineken Cup twice in a scintillating 15-9 victory against Munster at Cardiff's Millennium Stadium on Saturday.

The defending champions lifted the trophy with a two-tries-to-nil victory in a clash that could have gone either way.

The Tigers' own Irishman Geordan Murphy and Austin Healey were the key men, the latter producing a delightful dummy for Leicester's second try.

Three penalties from Ronan O'Gara were scant reward for a mighty performance from the Irishmen.

But try as they might they failed to break down a superb Leicester defence despite a late rally which saw Munster controversially lose possession at a scrum underneath the posts.

Neil Back appeared to knock the ball out of Peter Stringer's hands with his hand but neither the referee nor the touch judge spotted the infringement, and the Tigers held on.

Leicester almost got off to the perfect start when Freddie Tuilagi raced over with just one minute on the clock, only for referee Joel Jutge to bring the Midlanders back for an illegal push on John Kelly.

Seconds later man-of-the-match Tim Stimpson's penalty sailed wide, but O'Gara slotted over shortly afterwards to push Munster 3-0 ahead.

Tigers fans reacted furiously when Martin Johnson ran over after a dismal throw in at the lineout by Frankie Sheahan - only for it to be again ruled out by Jutge.

Instead, it was Munster who added to their tally when O'Gara slotted his second of the afternoon after 20 minutes.

The game clearly needed a try and it was Leicester's Murphy who provided it - courtesy of a timely dummy from Stimpson - to the dismay of his fellow countrymen.

It was nothing more than Leicester deserved, but Stimpson again failed to find the posts.

In front of a sea of red, Munster started the second period impressively, forcing the Tigers back into their 22.

Leicester again struggled to gain any meaningful possession and had it not been for Munster's inability to win any line-out ball, the Tigers could have been out of the game.

Leicester's front-row were struggling against the might of Peter Clohessy, Sheahan and John Hayes and O'Gara made them pay when Darren Garforth was penalised for not binding.

His kick pushed Munster 9-5 ahead to raise Irish hopes of a famous victory.

But after semi-final hero Harry Ellis replaced scrum-half Jamie Hamilton 10 minutes after the break, the Tigers began to dominate.

Twice Stimpson refused to kick for goal and Leicester were rewarded for their bravery when O'Gara missed his man in front of his posts to allow Healey to turn the tide in favour of the defending champions.

Stimpson's conversion pushed Leicester ahead for the first time in the game.

The try prompted a rash of changes for Munster, with Clohessy bidding farewell to a remarkable rugby union career as the game entered the final quarter.

But just as Munster continued to struggle in the line-out, so Leicester again lost out in the scrum.

Garforth was again penalised for collapsing, this time inside his own 22, but O'Gara missed his opportunity to level affairs - a costly mistake made more frustrating seconds later when Stimpson pushed the Tigers 15-9 ahead.

From the re-start Munster hit back immediately, but John O'Neill's touchdown was correctly ruled out when TV replays showed he was marginally in touch.

And when Back's infringement at the scrum was not picked up, it was clear it was going to be Leicester's day.

Leicester Tigers V Munster



Tim Stimpson
Dominic Crotty

Replacement off


Geordan Murphy
John O'Neill

Replacement off

Ollie Smith
Rob Henderson

Rod Kafer
Jason Holland

Freddie Tuilagi
John Kelly

Man of the Match


Austin Healey
Ronan O'Gara


Replacement off

Jamie Hamilton
Peter Stringer

Replacement off

Graham Rowntree
Peter Clohessy

Replacement off

Dorian West
Frankie Sheahan

Replacement off

Darren Garforth
John Hayes

Martin Johnson (capt)
Mick Galwey (capt)

Ben Kay
Paul O'Connell

Replacement off

Lewis Moody
Alan Quinlan

Neil Back
David Wallace

Martin Corry
Anthony Foley

Replacement off
Replacement on

Harry Ellis
James Blaney

Replacement on
Replacement on

Perry Freshwater
Jim Williams

Replacement on
Replacement on

Glenn Gelderbloom
Marcus Horan

Replacement on

Richard Cockerill
Mick O'Driscoll

Replacement on

Will Johnson
Jeremy Staunton

Replacement on

Josh Kronfeld
Mike Mullins

Replacement on

Andy Goode
Mike Prendergast

Penalty Tries
First half timeline
Temporary sub - J Blaney on for F Sheahan
Temporary sub - F Sheahan on for J Blaney
Second half timeline
50Leicester Tigers
Substitution - H Ellis on for J Hamilton
Substitution - J Williams on for A Foley
Substitution - M Horan on for P Clohessy
Substitution - M O'Driscoll on for P O'Connell
Substitution - J Staunton on for D Crotty
73Leicester Tigers
Substitution - P Freshwater on for G Rowntree
76Leicester Tigers
Substitution - G Gelderbloom on for O Smith
Results so far
Leicester Tigers
25/5/02FinalMunsterW 15-9
28/4/02Semi FinalsLlanelli ScarletsW 13-12
27/1/02Quarter FinalsLeinsterW 29-18
12/1/02Pool 1Llanelli ScarletsL 12-24
5/1/02Pool 1Rugby CalvisanoW 29-7
3/11/01Pool 1PerpignanW 54-15
27/10/01Pool 1PerpignanW 31-30
7/10/01Pool 1Rugby CalvisanoW 37-3
29/9/01Pool 1Llanelli ScarletsW 12-9
25/5/02FinalLeicester TigersL 9-15
27/4/02Semi FinalsCastres OlympiqueW 25-17
26/1/02Quarter FinalsStade Francais ParisW 16-14
12/1/02Pool 4Castres OlympiqueL 13-21
5/1/02Pool 4NEC HarlequinsW 51-17
3/11/01Pool 4BridgendW 40-6
26/10/01Pool 4BridgendW 16-12
6/10/01Pool 4NEC HarlequinsW 24-8
29/9/01Pool 4Castres OlympiqueW 28-23
Previous Heineken Cup meetings
Sat 20th Jan 07Pool 4Munster6 - 13Leicester Tigers
Sun 22nd Oct 06Pool 4Leicester Tigers19 - 21Munster
Sun 13th Apr 03Quarter FinalsLeicester Tigers7 - 20Munster
Sat 25th May 02FinalLeicester Tigers15 - 9Munster
Heineken CupHistory
Leicester Tigers
2007/08 - Pool 6
2006/07 - Runners up
2005/06 - Quarter Finals
2004/05 - Semi Finals
2003/04 - Pool 1
2002/03 - Quarter Finals
2001/02 - Champions
2000/01 - Champions
1999/00 - Pool 1
1997/98 - Quarter Finals
1996/97 - Runners up
2007/08 - Champions
2006/07 - Quarter Finals
2005/06 - Champions
2004/05 - Quarter Finals
2003/04 - Semi Finals
2002/03 - Semi Finals
2001/02 - Runners up
2000/01 - Semi Finals
1999/00 - Runners up
1998/99 - Quarter Finals
1997/98 - Pool D
1996/97 - Pool D
1995/96 - Pool D
delivered by Sotic powered by RedDot Web Content Management
Did You Know?
Dafydd James, the Llanelli Scarlets threequarter, requires just one try to become the first player to score 25 Heineken Cup tries.
Heineken Cup Forum
ERC eZine
Register now to receive the very latest club rugby news from around Europe.

Challenge Cup Countdown

Challenge Cup Forum