Guild Award winners 2007

The winners of the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain Awards 2007 were announced at a ceremony hosted by Jeremy Hardy on Sunday 18 November at BAFTA. There are photos from the night on the Guild's blog.

The winners were:

Best Videogame Script

  • Dan Houser and Jacob Krarup - Canis Canem Edit

Also nominated:

  • Dan Houser and David Bland - Grand Theft Auto: Vice City Stories

  • Charles Cecil and Neil Richards - Broken Sword: Angel of Death

Best Radio Play

  • Steve Gooch - McNaughton

Also nominated:

  • Charles Wood – Conspiracy at Sevres

  • Mark Lawson – Expand This

Best Original Drama (TV)

  • Neil McKay - See No Evil: The Moors Murders

Also nominated:

  • Victoria Wood - Housewife, 49 

  • Peter Morgan - Longford

Best Soap / Series (TV)

  • Chris Chibnall, Paul Cornell, Russell T. Davies, Stephen Greenhorn, Steven Moffat, Helen Raynor and Gareth Roberts - Doctor Who, Series 3

Also nominated:

  • Joe Ainsworth, Lisa Holdsworth, Nigel McCrery, Charles McKeown, Roy Mitchell, J.C. Wilsher and Richard Zajdlic - New Tricks, Series 4

  • Chris Chibnall, Mark Greig, Matthew Graham, Guy Jenkin, Tony Jordan, Ashley Pharoah and Julie Rutterford – Life on Mars, Series 2

Best Comedy / Light Entertainment (TV)

  • Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Tony Roche - The Thick of It

Also nominated:

  • Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant - Extras

  • James Corden and Ruth Jones - Gavin & Stacey

Best Play (Theatre)

  • Gregory Burke - Black Watch

Also nominated:

  • Peter Morgan - Frost/Nixon

  • Tom Stoppard - Rock 'n' Roll

Best Screenplay (Feature Film)

  • Shane Meadows - This Is England

Also nominated:

  • Tony Grisoni - Lives Of The Saints

  • Paul Laverty - The Wind That Shakes The Barley

  • Jeremy Brock and Peter Morgan - The Last King Of Scotland (based on the book by Giles Foden)

All the nominated writer(s) had to be British or have worked in Britain. Eligible programmes / plays / books etc had to have been first released, published, performed or broadcast during the period 1 June 2006 - 31 May 2007 inclusive.

Other awards presented at the ceremony on Sunday 18 November were:

  • Outstanding Contribution to Children’s Writing - J.K. Rowling

  • A Special Award from the Writers’ Guild’s Books Committee - Alan Brownjohn

  • The Edinburgh International Film Festival 2007, Best Screenplay Award, presented by the Writers’ Guild and The List - Matt Greenhalgh (Control)

  • A Lifetime Achievement Award - Alan Plater

The Awards were supported by sponsorship from BBC, ITV and Working Title and the Fisher Organisation.

Article updated: 19.10.2007

arrow - back to top back to top