Tom Harley Tarkyn Lockyer Jimmy Bartel Nick Maxwell__.jpg

AFL Players’ Association Executive Committee

Joel Bowden

Joel was elected AFLPA President in 2007 after first becoming involved with the AFLPA in 2000 when he became Richmond's Alternate Delegate.

In 2001, Joel became the Tigers AFLPA Delegate and in 2005 he joined the AFLPA's Executive. Joel's playing honours include; All-Australian 2005 & 2006 and Richmond Best & Fairest 2004 & 2005.

Brett Burton

An AFLPA Executive Member since 2005, Brett was elected Vice-President of the AFLPA in 2007. Brett first became Adelaide's AFLPA club delegate in 2000.

Brett is a Vice-Captain of the Adelaide Football Club.

Adam Goodes

Sydney's AFLPA Delegate since 2000, Adam joined the AFLPA Executive in 2004.

Adam's playing honours include - Brownlow Medal 2004 & 2006; Sydney Best & Fairest 2003; All-Australian 2003, Sydney Premiership Side 2005.

Luke Power

After first becoming involved with the AFLPA as Brisbane's AFLPA Delegate in 2001, Luke joined the AFLPA's Executive in 2007.

Luke's playing honours include - All-Australian 2004, Brisbane Premiership side 2001, '02 & '03. Luke is also a vice-captain of the Brisbane Lions.

Tom Harley

The Geelong skipper first became involved with the AFLPA in 2001 when he became Geelong's Alternate Delegate. In 2004 Tom joined the AFLPA Executive.

Named captain of the Geelong Football Club in 2007, Tom led the Cats to the 2007 AFL Premiership.

Tom was voted the AFL's Best Captain by his peers in 2008 and was a member and Vice-Captain of the 2008 All-Australian side.

Robert Murphy

Robert joined the AFLPA Executive in 2007 after first becoming involved with the AFLPA as the Western Bulldog's AFLPA Club Delegate in 2006.

Nick Maxwell

Nick was elected to the AFLPA's Executive Committee in 2007 after first becoming involved with the AFLPA in 2006 when he became Collingwood's Alternate Delegate.

Nick is Captain of the Collingwood Football Club.

Luke Ball

After first becoming involved with the AFLPA in 2006 when he became St Kilda's Alternate Delegate, Luke joined the AFLPA Executive in 2007. Luke's playing honours include - St Kilda Best & Fairest 2005 and All-Australian 2005. Luke is also a co-captain of the St Kilda Football Club.

Ashley Hansen

Ashley first became involved with the AFLPA in 2006 when he became the West Coast Eagles Alternate Delegate before in 2007 becoming the club's Delegate. Elected to the AFLPA's Executive in 2008, Ashley becomes the first West Coast Eagle Executive member since John Worsfold, who served on the AFLPA Executive throughout 1995 - 1999. Ashley was a member of the West Coast Eagles 2006 Premiership side.

Simon Madden

Simon Madden joined the AFLPA Executive Committee as past player representative in 2008. Simon was President of the then VFL Players' Association from 1987 to 1990 and played a record 378 games for Essendon.

Some of Simon's many football achievements include;

  • 1984 & 1985 Essendon Premiership player
  • Essendon Best & Fairest 1977, 1979, 1983, 1984
  • Norm Smith Medal 1985
  • AFL Hall of Fame member
  • All-Australian 1983, 1984, 1987 & 1988

Brendon Gale
Chief Executive Officer – AFL Players’ Association

Brendon was born in Burnie, Tasmania, and has both a Masters Degree in Arts and Bachelors Degree in Laws from Monash University.

In his “previous life" Brendon played 244 games of AFL football between 1990 and 2001 with the Richmond Football Club; captaining and vice-captaining the club between 1994 and 1997. During his playing career Brendon had an active involvement with the AFL Players’ Association eventually serving as President of the AFLPA from 1999 to 2002.

Upon retirement from professional, Brendon practiced law with commercial law firm Mallesons Stephen Jaques. As CEO, Brendon represents the collective industrial interests of all AFL players.

2009 AFL Players’ Association Delegates and Alternates


Ben Rutten / Brad Moran


Jonathan Brown / Troy Selwood


Brad Fisher / Jordan Bannister


Tarkyn Lockyer / Nathan Brown


Brent Stanton


Matthew Pavlich / Daniel Gilmore


Jimmy Bartel / Joel Selwood


Brad Sewell / Simon Taylor


Cameron Bruce / Matthew Warnock


Drew Petrie / Daniel Harris


Troy Chaplin / Shaun Burgoyne


Daniel Jackson / Adam Pattison


Jason Blake / Matthew Maguire


Jared Crouch / Jude Bolton


Daniel Giansiracusa / Will Minson


Adam Selwood / Brett Jones