Kicked In The Face - Short. Honest. Unhindered by popular opinion - Metal reviews and opinions

Metal Reviews testimonials Go here to discuss this review

Charles Bronson - Complete Discocrappy
1999 625 Records
Charles Bronson - Complete Discocrappy

Track Listing:
Disc 1
1. Why Do You Bother?
2. Little Debbie
3. I'm Sick Of Feminists
4. Your Average Run Of The Mill Straight Edge Song
5. Ricki Lake
6. Just Like All The Rest (Neos)
7. The Shane Song
8. No More
9. Can't Take This
10. Theme Song
11. I Can't Be In A Band With You Because You Like Epitaph (Beatdown Remix)
12. Silenced
13. Diet Rootbeer
14. Ebro's Bitter Onslaught On Jerry Springer's Unsuspecting Ass
15. Sick of O.J.
16. Chicago
17. Bible Thumpers Go To Hell
18. Irrigation
19. Security Blanket
20. Why Do You Bother?
21. Eavesdrop
22. I Can't Be Friends With You Because You Like Epitaph
23. Easy E's Fucking Dead And I Think It's Fucking Rad
24. Second Hand Choke
25. Theme Song
26. Deaf and Dumb
27. J.R.S. Beatdown
28. They Should Legalize Drugs So You Can Hurry Up And Fucking Die
29. Crooked Teeth
30. Political Prisoners
31. Obligatory Jock Slaughter Song
32. You Get What You Pay For
33. Charles Bronson Will Not Turn Into A _______ Band
34. Rich Crusties Shall Pay
35. Fuckin' Drunken Uncle
36. Fratguy On The Barbi
37. I Lied When I Said I Liked Your Zine
38. Playing Lotto
39. Ants In The Kool Aid
40. What The Fuck Are You Going to Do When It's Cool to Be Yourself?
41. Craig Ferris Sucks A Mean Cock
42. Phil Anselmo's Pain Burns In The Heart of My Little Brother
43. The Kids Are Gonna Stick Together
44. Tabloid Suckass
45. Cheese With Your Whine
46. 4 Alarm Counter Fuck
47. Annual Martyr To Your Social Life
48. History In The Making
49. Tony Victory Knows How to Party
50. Down For The Count
51. 4 Hour Personality
52. No Points For The Losers
53. Drunk Punks Is Hippies
54. One Life Crew Goes On Slimfast
55. Debate Team Bakesale
56. I Can Never Write Too Many Songs About Morons Like You
57. Individualized Floor Puncher
57.5. For Whom The Bell Tolls
58. Batting A Thousand And Still Striking Out
59. Let's Start A Revolution So I Can Break Some Shit
60. The Great Pet Rock Comeback
61. What's Wrong With Me? (Faith)
62. Dream A Little Dream
63. Punching A Gift Horse In The Mouth
64. The Story Of My Life
65. Grown Up Corpses
66. Bike Pig On A Rope
67. I'm So Smart Now
68. As Fucked As Gator
69. Skate For God
70. You Will Go (Steve Caballero)
71. Better Never Than Late
72. 412 Wolfpack
73. Marriage Can Suck It
74. Youth Attack!
75. The Painful, Yet Unavoidable, Deathstar Comparison
76. xDumbfucksx
77. Too Much of a Good Thing
78. Standing In Front Of Bulldog Records
79. Stock Footage
80. Pre (Im)mature Retirement Plan
81. The Only Time I Think About Romance Is When I Wonder Why I Don't Think About It
82. Deaf And Dumb
83. Fuck Technology, I'll Keep My Pocket Change
84. Red And Green Make Yellow
85. Let's Start Another War So I Sing About Stopping It
86. I Just Can't Avoid The Void In "Avoid"
87. Wastoid On The Celluloid
88. Shrinkage
89. Close Encounters Of The Nerd Kind
90. I.Q. 32
91. Punch Drunk (Husker Du)
92. The Tears Of A Clone
92.5. Hey You Asshole, Why The Fuck Are You Still Reading This?
93. Last Warning (Who Fucking Cares)
94. Why Be Something That You're Not? (Good Question)
95. Rich Crusties (Live At Otto's)
96. Seven More Shitty-Ass Songs (Live In Fuckin' Belgium)

Disc 2
1. Why Do You Bother Ebro?
2. Couldn't Fuckin' Care Less
3. Whatever Happened?
4. Mindless (Blah Blah Blah)
5. The Worm Song
6. The Kids Are Gonna Stick Together
7. Falling Off - Do It!
8. E.S.P. Girls Love Me
9. Wailing Guitar Solos Vol. 1, A Chronology
10. (Fuck Being) Positive
11. ???
12. ???
13. So What If I Puked Up McDonald's?
14. Moodswinger
15. Ralph On Ralph
16. Twiggy On My Mind
17. Cous Cous On The Loose Loose
18. Telecom USA
19. I Go To School
20. Cross Me (Project X)
21. Untitled (DeKalb Hatedge Forever)

:  Mark McCoy
Bass:  Jon Arends
Drums:  Ebro Virumbrales
Guitars on tracks D1:  1 - 10, D2:  1:  James Dejesus
Guitars on tracks D1:  11 - 7, D2:  2 - 21:  Mike Sutfin
Guitars on tracks D1:  26-56, D2:  2 - 15:  Aaron Aspinwall
Guitars on tracks D1:  72 - 96, D2:  16 - 19:  Jeff Jelen
Drums on D2:  20 & 21:  Max Ward

Lamp's Rating:  A-
Overall Album Rating:  A-

Lamp's Review:
Before buying this, I had heard a few songs from this band and actually wasn't too impressed.  It must have been about a year before I got around to actually buying this discography, not expecting much from it.  Boy, did I underestimate the power of these angry young guys.  I still find myself listening to this collection constantly, especially in the car.  The lyrics are rambling and furious.  The music is solid.  And if you want to know, the first disc is 72 minutes long.  With 96 songs, it's obvious they're all pretty short which is fine for me anyway.  Through member changes and personal growing, you'll notice a difference from the beginning to the end of the CD.  Mark McCoy has a voice that goes from snotty sounding but at a human level, to that of a pre-pubescent girl, which can be funny sometimes, but more often than not makes me wish he sounded like he used to.

The guys all got better at their instruments.  The musical progression is faster and tighter.  Some of the songs by the end sound like a total blur because of the shortness combined with the increased speed.  The lyrics stayed solid through all the time periods.  Mark stayed plenty angry and had a lot to write about in these three years.  The music itself is nothing too groundbreaking, hence why I wasn't too impressed when I first heard it.  But to me, this is the kind of band where you have to listen to the releases as a whole to appreciate them more.  Say for example you hear a song from the first EP.  It doesn't seem too great.  But then you put it in it's place with the other thirteen songs and play them all in a row.  It sounds a lot better.  No, Charles Bronson isn't telling any stories in their records, but since the songs are so short, you need to have a few in a row to get a good listening flow going.

As for the second disc, it's all unreleased.  Quite a few outtakes.  The version of "Why Do You Bother" was recorded two weeks after the band started and is pretty embarrassing to say the least, nobody being in time with anyone else.  Mark insists quality was missing on some of these long forgotten songs, but when you're just playing simple music, once you have quality, it's not too easy to shake it unless the band starts playing the songs sloppy.  So overall, this release is a little bland and Mark gets a little annoying towards the end vocally, but it's not rocket science and definitely something great to listen to while driving.  Very solid, I recommend it to any enthusiast of fast hardcore.
Lamp's Rating:  A-

Discography (last updated 11.2.05):
Charles Bronson 7" - 1996
Charles Bronson/Ice Nine split 7" - 1996
Charles Bronson/Quill split 7" - 1996
Charles Bronson/Unanswered split 7" - 1997
Youth Attack - 1997

Complete Discocrappy - 1999