naismith awards
naismith awards
HomeAtlanta Tip Off ClubHistoryPress BoxEventsAbout UsContact Us
naismith awards
naismith awards
naismith awards
naismit hawards

The Naismith Trophy History

Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, founder of the game of basketball, the Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T is awarded annually to the male and female college basketball players of the year. First awarded in 1969 to UCLA’s Lew Alcindor, later known as Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, the Naismith Trophy was sculpted by Marty C. Dawe of Atlanta and has become the most prestigious national honors awarded each year to the top men’s and women’s college basketball players in the nation.

Each year, the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s board of selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists, coaches and administrators from around the country, vote on player performance to ultimately select the winners.

Unique among national awards of this caliber, the Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T, allows fans to contribute an unprecedented 25 percent of the final vote for the men’s and women’s players of the year and the men’s and women’s coaches of the year using the text messaging functions on their cellular telephones.

Established in 1987, the Naismith Men’s College Coach of the Year Award and the Naismith Women’s College Coach of the Year Award were originally given to the coaches of the men’s and women’s NCAA Division I Tournament champions. In 1989, the governing board changed the selection criteria to the voting process used today. Each year, the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s board of selectors first votes to compile a top-25 list of coaches for each award. Then, through additional votes, the list is narrowed down to four and finally the eventual winner.

Also in 1987, to honor the nation’s best male and female high school basketball players, the Naismith Trophy Male High School Player of the Year and the Naismith Trophy Female High School Player of the Year were established. Each honor is selected annually by the Atlanta Tipoff Club board of selectors. The board votes to compile a top-10 list of players from across the country for both awards. The winners are then selected by a board vote.

nasimith awards
naismit hawards

2008 Tyler Hansbrough - North Carolina
2007 Kevin Durant ∙ Texas
2006 J.J. Redick ∙ Duke
2005 Andrew Bogut ∙ Utah
2004 Jameer Nelson • Saint Joseph’s
2003 T.J. Ford • Texas
2002 Jason Williams • Duke
2001 Shane Battier • Duke
2000 Kenyon Martin • Cincinnati
1999 Elton Brand • Duke
1998 Antawn Jamison • North Carolina
1997 Tim Duncan • Wake Forest
1996 Marcus Camby • UMass
1995 Joe Smith • Maryland
1994 Glenn Robinson • Purdue
1993 Calbert Cheaney • Indiana
1992 Christian Laettner • Duke
1991 Larry Johnson • UNLV
1990 Lionel Simmons • LaSalle
1989 Danny Ferry • Duke
1988 Danny Manning • Kansas
1987 David Robinson • Navy
1986 Johnny Dawkins • Duke
1985 Patrick Ewing • Georgetown
1984 Michael Jordan • North Carolina
1983 Ralph Sampson • Virginia
1982 Ralph Sampson • Virginia
1981 Ralph Sampson • Virginia
1980 Mark Aguirre • DePaul
1979 Larry Bird • Indiana State
1978 Butch Lee • Marquette
1977 Marques Johnson • UCLA
1976 Scott May • Indiana
1975 David Thompson • N.C. State
1974 Bill Walton • UCLA
1973 Bill Walton • UCLA
1972 Bill Walton • UCLA
1971 Austin Carr • Notre Dame
1970 Pete Maravich • LSU
1969 Lew Alcindor • UCLA

2008 Candace Parker - Tennessee
2007 Lindsey Harding ∙ Duke
2006 Seimone Augustus ∙ LSU
2005 Seimone Augustus ∙ LSU
2004 Diana Taurasi • Connecticut
2003 Diana Taurasi • Connecticut
2002 Sue Bird • Connecticut
2001 Ruth Riley • Notre Dame
2000 Tamika Catchings • Tennessee
1999 Chamique Holdsclaw • Tennessee
1998 Chamique Holdsclaw • Tennessee
1997 Kate Starbird • Stanford
1996 Saudia Roundtree • Georgia
1995 Rebecca Lobo • Connecticut
1994 Lisa Leslie • USC
1993 Sheryl Swoopes • Texas Tech
1992 Dawn Staley • Virginia
1991 Dawn Staley • Virginia
1990 Jennifer Azzi • Stanford
1989 Clarissa Davis • Texas
1988 Sue Wicks • Rutgers
1987 Clarissa Davis • Texas
1986 Cheryl Miller • USC
1985 Cheryl Miller • USC
1984 Cheryl Miller • USC
1983 Anne Donovan • Old Dominion

naismith awards