16/03/2009 Phoenix Racing Announce Drivers

2008 FIA GT Team Vice Champions Phoenix Racing have announced their driver line up for the 2009 FIA GT3 European Championship.  Christopher Haase and Christopher Mies will drive one of the team’s R8s, while two Swiss drivers, Jean-Denis Deletraz and Lloyd La Marca, will drive the other. 

Deletraz raced last year with his fellow countryman Marcel Fässler in a Phoenix Corvette in the FIA GT Championship, taking the team to the second place in the Teams championship. Talented youngster Mies won the Division II of the ADAC Procar-Series in 2008.  His new team-mate Haase has competed for two years in the ADAC GT Masters, winning the title in 2007 and finishing second in 2008.  He also competed in FIA GT3 last year and also won the Sports Light category of the GT4 European Cup.

The sponsor of Haase’s car is the Online Broker flatex; Christopher Mies’ partners are Rheinfelden Miguss. As last year in the FIA GT, the Deletraz/ La Marca car will carry the colours of ACM, an online currency platform. 

“With the R8 LMS, Audi has given Teams and Drivers an excellent basis to enter national and international race series on a professional basis,” team owner Ernst Moser explained.  “We will use this potential to give our partners and sponsors some more highlights in the coming year.”

As well as the FIA GT3 European Championship, Phoenix Racing will also compete in the ADAC GT Masters with 2007 FIA GT3 European Champion Henri Moser and Michael Outzen from Denmark.  The third Championship will be the Belgian GT Championship, with two local drivers at the wheel: Jean-François Hemroulle and Tim Verbergt.

Full press release from Phoenix Racing to follow