Jesse D. Garrabrant/NBAE via Getty Images

Magic's Dwight Howard earns Defensive Player of Year

By Official Release
Posted Apr 21 2009 3:41PM

Dwight Howard of the Orlando Magic is the recipient of the 2008-09 NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award presented by Kia Motors, the NBA announced today.

The 6-foot-11 center led the NBA in rebounds and blocks, averaging 13.8 boards and 2.92 blocks. He also averaged 20.6 points on .572 shooting from the floor. Howard recorded nine 20-point/20-rebound games while leading the team in scoring 39 times and in rebounds on 69 occasions.

As part of its support of the Defensive Player of the Year Award, Kia Motors America will donate either a new Borrego SUV or Sedona minivan on behalf of Howard to Orlando Day Nursery, which has served the Parramore neighborhood since 1921 and is Central Florida's oldest early childhood education center. Kia Motors will present a brand new vehicle to the charity of choice of each of four 2008-09 season-end award winners as part of the "The NBA Performance Awards Presented by Kia Motors."

Howard, a three-time NBA All-Star, helped the Magic to its second consecutive Southeast Division title (59-23), including a 32-9 record at home. The Magic held opponents under 100 points 54 times this season -- compiling a 43-11 record -- including a season-low 68 points allowed by New Orleans on Dec. 25. Orlando allowed 94.4 ppg (7,737 points), which ranked sixth in the NBA, and overall the team was in the NBA's top 10 in seven defensive categories.

Howard became the fifth player in NBA history to finish the season leading the league in rebounding and blocks (1973-74 was the first season blocks were kept as an official statistic). The select group includes Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (L.A. Lakers, 1975-76), Bill Walton (Portland Trail Blazers, 1976-77), Hakeem Olajuwon (Houston, 1989-90) and Ben Wallace (Detroit, 2001-02).

Howard received 542 points, including 105 first-place votes, from a panel of 119 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. Cleveland's LeBron James finished second with 148 points and Miami's Dwyane Wade finished third with 90 points. Players were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote received.

The 2008-09 NBA Defensive Player of the Year Award presented by Kia Motors is part of a series of on-court performance awards called "The NBA Performance Awards Presented by Kia Motors." The series, currently in its second season, is a significant part of the multiyear marketing partnership between Kia Motors America and the NBA, and also includes the Most Improved Player, Sixth Man and Most Valuable Player of the Year Awards. It also includes the Eastern and Western Conference Players of the Month presented by Kia Motors which are awarded during the regular season. For more information on the "The NBA Performance Awards Presented by Kia Motors" click here.

Defensive Player of the Year Presented by Kia Motors Voting
PLAYER TEAM 1st (5 Pts) 2nd (3 Pts) 3rd (1 pt) Total
Dwight Howard Orlando 105 4 5 542
LeBron James Cleveland 4 36 20 148
Dwyane Wade Miami 3 20 15 90
Shane Battier Houston 2 17 10 71
Ron Artest Houston 1 13 10 54
Chris Paul New Orleans 1 9 17 49
Kobe Bryant LA Lakers 2 6 15 43
Kevin Garnett Boston 1 6 8 31
Chris Andersen Denver - 2 4 10
Rajon Rondo Boston - 2 2 8
Tim Duncan San Antonio - 1 4 7
Raja Bell Charlotte - 1 1 4
Anderson Varejao Cleveland - 1 - 3
Andre Iguodala Philadelphia - 1 - 3
Ronny Turiaf Golden State - - 2 2
Trevor Ariza LA Lakers - - 1 1
Marcus Camby LA Clippers - - 1 1
Grant Hill Phoenix - - 1 1
Joel Pryzbilla Portland - - 1 1
Hedo Turkoglu Orlando - - 1 1

All-time NBA Defensive Player of the Year winners
1982-83 Sidney Moncrief, Milwaukee
1983-84 Sidney Moncrief, Milwaukee
1984-85 Mark Eaton, Utah
1985-86 Alvin Robertson, San Antonio
1986-87 Michael Cooper, L.A. Lakers
1987-88 Michael Jordan, Chicago
1988-89 Mark Eaton, Utah
1989-90 Dennis Rodman, Detroit
1990-91 Dennis Rodman, Detroit
1991-92 David Robinson, San Antonio
1992-93 Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston
1993-94 Hakeem Olajuwon, Houston
1994-95 Dikembe Mutombo, Denver
1995-96 Gary Payton, Seattle
1996-97 Dikembe Mutombo, Atlanta
1997-98 Dikembe Mutombo, Atlanta
1998-99 Alonzo Mourning, Miami
1999-00 Alonzo Mourning, Miami
2000-01 Dikembe Mutombo, Philadelphia
2001-02 Ben Wallace, Detroit
2002-03 Ben Wallace, Detroit
2003-04 Ron Artest, Indiana
2004-05 Ben Wallace, Detroit
2005-06 Ben Wallace, Detroit
2006-07 Marcus Camby, Denver
2007-08 Kevin Garnett, Boston
2008-09 Dwight Howard, Orlando


photoArena Link: Jose Barea
Jose Barea joined NBATV to discuss the Mavericks big win over the Spurs to take a 2-1 lead in the series.
photoT-Mobile Halftime Report
Kenny, E.J. and Charles break down the first half of the Laker vs. Jazz Game 3 and report on Rondo's injury.
photoPostgame: Tony Parker
Tony Parker talks about an aggressive Mavericks team that played with more energy in Game 3.
photoPostgame: Rick Carlisle
Rick Carlisle talks about the Mavericks disposition and how they stepped up defense in Game 3.
photoPostgame: Gregg Popovich
Gregg Popovich talks about a 21-point loss and adjustments the Spurs need to make for Game 4.
photoLakers vs. Jazz: 1st Half
The Jazz are looking for their first win in the series and are beating the Lakers 43-39 at the half.
photoSpurs vs. Mavericks
Mavericks romp the Spurs 88-67 and lead the series 2-1.
photoCeltics vs. Bulls
The Celtics run over the Bulls 107-86 and bully their way back to a 2-1 lead in the series.
photoStrong Performances of the Week
Watch some of the top performances from the first week of the 2009 NBA Playoffs.
photoGameTime: Top Moment
GP lives up to his bet with Ahmad and C-Webb that if the Bulls made the Payoffs he would bungee jump.

Other Features
NBA 101