Mavericks' Terry wins Kia Sixth Man of the Year award

By Official release
Posted Apr 24 2009 2:35PM

Jason Terry of the Dallas Mavericks is the winner of the 2008-09 NBA Sixth Man Award presented by Kia Motors as the league's best player in a reserve role, the NBA announced Friday.

Terry received 576 of a possible 605 points, including 111 of a possible 121 first-place votes, from a panel of 121 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. J.R. Smith of the Denver Nuggets finished second with 155 points and Nate Robinson of the New York Knicks finished third with 113 points.

In order to be eligible for this award, players had to have come off the bench in more games than they started. Players were awarded five points for each first-place vote, three points for each second-place vote and one point for each third-place vote.

As part of its support of the Sixth Man of the Year Award, Kia Motors America will donate either a new Borrego SUV or Sedona minivan on behalf of Terry to the Rock T. Youth Foundation in Dallas. Kia Motors will present a brand new vehicle to the charity of choice of each of four 2008-09 season-end award winners as part of the "The NBA Performance Awards Presented by Kia Motors."

A sixth man in 63 of 74 games played this season, Terry averaged 19.6 points, 2.4 rebounds, 3.4 assists and 1.3 steals in 33.6 minutes. He shot .463 from the field, .366 from beyond the three-point line and .880 from the free throw line. Among NBA leaders, Terry ranked 10th in three-pointers made (167), 11th in free throw percentage, 17th in steals, and tied for 22nd in scoring average.

The tenth-year pro averaged more points than each of the last 18 Sixth Man of the Year winners and combined with Dirk Nowitzki for the third highest scoring average (45.5 ppg) among teammates. The 6-2 guard had 33 games in which he scored at least 20 points as a reserve and 26 contests in which he matched or outscored the opposing bench.

The 2008-09 NBA Sixth Man Award presented by Kia Motors is part of a series of on-court performance awards called "The NBA Performance Awards Presented by Kia Motors." The awards, which are part of a multi-year marketing partnership that makes Kia Motors America the official automotive partner of the NBA, also include the Most Valuable Player, Defensive Player of the Year, and Most Improved Player Award. The series also includes the Eastern and Western Conference Players of the Month presented by Kia Motors. For more information on the "The NBA Performance Awards Presented by Kia Motors" click here.

2008-09 NBA Sixth Man Award presented by Kia Motors Voting
Player, Team 1st 2nd 3rd Pts
Jason Terry, Dallas 111 6 3 576
J.R. Smith, Denver 3 36 32 155
Nate Robinson, New York 2 27 22 113
Lamar Odom, L.A. Lakers 2 17 17 78
Travis Outlaw, Portland 1 17 19 75
Manu Ginobili, San Antonio 1 3 3 17
Ronald Murray, Atlanta 1 2 5 16
Chris Andersen, Denver -- 3 4 13
Andrei Kirilenko, Utah -- 2 1 7
Corey Maggette, Golden State -- 2 1 6
Louis Williams, Philadelphia -- 1 3 6
Leandro Barbosa, Phoenix -- 1 3 6
Eddie House, Boston -- 1 2 5
Kirk Hinrich, Chicago -- 1 1 4
Jason Kapono, Toronto -- 1 -- 3
James Posey, New Orleans -- -- 2 2
Trevor Ariza, L.A. Lakers -- -- 1 1
Michael Beasley, Miami -- -- 1 1
Hakeem Warrick, Memphis -- 1 -- 1
Paul Millsap, Utah -- -- 1 1

All-time winners

1982-83 Bobby Jones, Philadelphia 76ers
1983-84 Kevin McHale, Boston Celtics
1984-85 Kevin McHale, Boston Celtics
1985-86 Bill Walton, Boston Celtics
1986-87 Ricky Pierce, Milwaukee Bucks
1987-88 Roy Tarpley, Dallas Mavericks
1988-89 Eddie Johnson, Phoenix Suns
1989-90 Ricky Pierce, Milwaukee Bucks
1990-91 Detlef Schrempf, Indiana Pacers
1991-92 Detlef Schrempf, Indiana Pacers
1992-93 Clifford Robinson, Portland Trail Blazers
1993-94 Dell Curry, Charlotte Hornets
1994-95 Anthony Mason, New York Knicks
1995-96 Toni Kukoc, Chicago Bulls
1996-97 John Starks, New York Knicks
1997-98 Danny Manning, Phoenix Suns
1998-99 Darrell Armstrong, Orlando Magic
1999-00 Rodney Rogers, Phoenix Suns
2000-01 Aaron McKie, Philadelphia 76ers
2001-02 Corliss Williamson, Detroit Pistons
2002-03 Bobby Jackson, Sacramento Kings
2003-04 Antawn Jamison, Dallas Mavericks
2004-05 Ben Gordon, Chicago Bulls
2005-06 Mike Miller, Memphis Grizzlies
2006-07 Leandro Barbosa, Phoenix Suns
2007-08 Manu Ginobili, San Antonio Spurs
2008-09 Jason Terry, Dallas Mavericks


photoDunk of the Night
LeBron James soars through the air for the windmill dunk.
photoHaier Play of the Day
Hedo Turkoglu delivers and hits the three to even the series.
photoSunday's Top 5
Check out the five best plays from an exciting night in the NBA Playoffs.
photoBlazers vs. Rockets
Yao Ming had 21 points and the Rockets took a 3-1 lead in their playoff series with Portland, beating the Blazers, 89-88.
photoPostgame: Hedo Turkoglu
Hedo Turkoglu talks about his game-winning shot and the confidence Van Gundy has in him.
photoPostgame: Andre Iguodala
Andre Iguodala talks about Turkoglu's game-winning shot, and the Magic's defense on him tonight.
photoPostgame: Brandon Roy
Brandon Roy talks about being down 3-1 and Travis Outlaw's confidence.
photoPostgame: Yao Ming and Shane Battie
Yao Ming and Shane Battier talk about what it will take to win the series against Portland.
photoWhere Amazing Happens
Watch the amazing moments from day 9 of the 2009 NBA Playoffs.
photoPostgame: Nate McMillan
Nate McMillan talks about turnovers and missing open looks down the stretch.

Other Features
NBA 101