Streeter Lecka/Getty Images

Nuggets' Billups named Sportsmanship Award winner

By Official Release
Posted Apr 29 2009 7:14AM

NEW YORK -- Chauncey Billups of the Denver Nuggets is the recipient of the Joe Dumars Trophy presented to the 2008-09 NBA Sportsmanship Award winner, the NBA announced today.

A 12-year veteran, Billups was one of six divisional winners, which included Boston's Ray Allen, Detroit's Antonio McDyess, Golden State's Ronny Turiaf, San Antonio's Michael Finley and Washington's Antawn Jamison.

Billups received 82 first-place votes (2,478 total points) of a possible 336.

For the fifth consecutive year, NBA players voted on this award, with eleven points given for each first-place vote, nine points for each second-place vote, seven points for third, five points for fourth, three points for fifth and one point for each sixth-place vote received. Each team nominated one of its players for the award. Former NBA players Mike Bantom, John Crotty, Eddie Johnson, Jalen Rose, Tom "Satch" Sanders, Kenny Smith and Chris Webber then selected the six divisional winners.

The NBA will make a donation on behalf of Chauncey Billups to Porter-Billups Leadership Academy at Regis University, a program that provides academic and leadership training to at-risk inner city students from Denver, with a goal of helping students attend college.

The NBA will also make a donation to each of the divisional winner's charities of choice: Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation & Ray of Hope Foundation on behalf of Allen; American Cancer Society on behalf of McDyess and Turiaf; the Michael Finley Foundation on behalf of Finley; and Kaboom & Wizards Care on Jamison's behalf.

The annual award reflects the ideals of sportsmanship -- ethical behavior, fair play and integrity -- in amateur and professional basketball, a key focus of the league's NBA Cares program efforts. The trophy is named for former Detroit Pistons guard and Hall of Famer Joe Dumars, the award's first recipient.

Following is a list of this year's voting totals and all-time winners of the NBA Sportsmanship Award:

2008-09 Sportsmanship Voting Award Totals
Player (Team) 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th Total points
Chauncey Billups (Nuggets) 82 69 73 64 38 10 2478
Ray Allen (Celtics) 76 60 50 35 38 77 2092
Antonio McDyess (Pistons) 40 82 51 43 74 46 2018
Antawn Jamison (Wizards) 42 46 77 74 65 32 2012
Michael Finley (Spurs) 32 49 57 73 77 48 1836
Ronny Turiaf (Warriors) 64 30 28 47 44 123 1660

photoThe Daily Zap
Check out all the action from Wednesday Night's double-header on TNT. Hawks rocked the Heat and the Nuggets sent the Hornets packing.
photoMagic vs. Sixers Lookahead
NBATV's Andre Aldridge and E-Snow preview Game 6 between the Sixers and the Magic tonight in Orlando at 7:30pm on NBATV.
photoDenver is Happening
Denver won their first Playoff series since 1994 by beating the Hornets 107-86 and taking the series in five games. All-Access
Go All-Access inside the Hornet's huddle during Game 5 against the Nuggets.
photoCourtside: Melo and Karl
TNT's Marc Fein spoke with both Melo and Coach Karl after the Nuggets won their first Playoff series since 1994.
photoHornets vs. Nuggets
'Melo scored 34 points and Billups' strong leadership led the Nuggets to their first playoff series win since 1994, ousting the Hornets 107-86.
photoHeat vs. Hawks Lookahead
TNT's Dick Stockton and The Czar recap Game 5's injuries and preview Game 6 in Miami on Friday night.
photoHeat vs. Hawks
Joe Johnson scored 25 points as the Hawks cooled the Heat 106-91 and take a 3-2 lead in the series.
photoOn Point with Chris Paul
The Hornets' guard introduces us to his family.
photoTop 5 of Inside: No. 3
TNT's Laura Green spoke with Magic GM Otis Smith about the suspension to Howard and the teams attitude heading into Game 6.

Other Features
NBA 101