Denver's Mark Warkentien named NBA Executive of the Year

By Official Release
Posted May 3 2009 3:04PM

NEW YORK -- Mark Warkentien, Denver Nuggets Vice President of Basketball Operations, has been named the recipient of the 2008-09 NBA Executive of the Year award.

The Nuggets just completed their fifth 50-win season in the team's NBA history, while qualifying for the postseason for the sixth consecutive year. Denver won its sixth division title since joining the NBA in 1976, including the second in the last four seasons. The Nuggets finished the 2008-09 regular season tied for the second best record and earned the second seed in the Western Conference playoffs by owning tiebreakers over both San Antonio and Portland.

Since his arrival in Denver in the summer of 2005 as Director of Player personnel, the Nuggets have orchestrated numerous transactions while maintaining a high level of success. On Nov. 3, 2008, Warkentien netted four-time All-Star and Denver native Chauncey Billups via trade with Detroit, giving the Nuggets an established floor leader and seasoned postseason performer. During Warkentien's tenure, the Nuggets also signed two-time All-Star Carmelo Anthony to a contract extension, re-signed Nenê and J.R. Smith, signed free agent Chris Andersen, and acquired Renaldo Balkman.

Warkentien received nine of a possible 30 votes from a panel of his NBA Executives throughout the NBA. Cleveland's Danny Ferry finished second with seven votes, Orlando's Otis Smith finished third with six votes, the Los Angeles Lakers' Mitch Kupchak and Chicago's John Paxson were tied for fourth with two votes apiece, and Denver's Rex Chapman, Houston's Darryl Morey, Utah's Kevin O'Connor, Oklahoma City's Sam Presti each received one vote.

All-time NBA Executive of the Year Award Winners
1972-73 Joe Axelson, K.C./Omaha
1973-74 Eddie Donovan, Buffalo
1974-75 Dick Vertlieb, Golden State
1975-76 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix
1976-77 Ray Patterson, Houston
1977-78 Angelo Drossos, San Antonio
1978-79 Bob Ferry, Washington
1979-80 Red Auerbach, Boston
1980-81 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix
1981-82 Bob Ferry, Washington
1982-83 Zollie Volchok, Seattle
1983-84 Frank Layden, Utah
1984-85 Vince Boryla, Denver
1985-86 Stan Kasten, Atlanta
1986-87 Stan Kasten, Atlanta
1987-88 Jerry Krause, Chicago
1988-89 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix
1989-90 Bob Bass, San Antonio
1990-91 Bucky Buckwalter, Portland
1991-92 Wayne Embry, Cleveland
1992-93 Jerry Colangelo, Phoenix
1993-94 Bob Whitsitt, Seattle
1994-95 Jerry West, Los Angeles Lakers
1995-96 Jerry Krause, Chicago
1996-97 Bob Bass, Charlotte
1997-98 Wayne Embry, Cleveland
1998-99 Geoff Petrie, Sacramento
1999-00 John Gabriel, Orlando
2000-01 Geoff Petrie, Sacramento
2001-02 Rod Thorn, New Jersey
2002-03 Joe Dumars, Detroit
2003-04 Jerry West, Memphis
2004-05 Bryan Colangelo, Phoenix
2005-06 Elgin Baylor, Los Angeles Clippers
2006-07 Bryan Colangelo, Toronto
2007-08 Danny Ainge, Boston
2008-09 Mark Warkentien, Denver

photoMagic vs. Celtics Lookahead
Reggie Miller and Marv Albert recap Game 1 and preview to Game 2 between the Magic and Celtics.
photoPostgame: Doc Rivers
Doc Rivers explains why fatigue did not play a role in the Celtics loss against the Magic.
photoMagic vs. Celtics: Gm 1
Dwight Howard scores 16 points and grabs 22 rebounds as the Magic defeat the Celtics 95-90.
photoRajon Rondo
Rajon Rondo picks off Anthony Johnson and takes it in for the layup.
photoEddie House
Eddie House hits the 3-pointer from the corner off the quick pass from Rajon Rondo.
photoA Great Person
Check out what LeBron James' teammates and friends had to say about his MVP honors.
photoMickael Pietrus
Mickael Pietrus drains the 3-pointer.
photoMagic vs. Celtics: 1st Half Analysis
Eric Snow and Andre Aldridge break down the first half of Game 1 between the Magic and Celtics.
photoHalftime: Rashard Lewis
David Aldridge talks with Rashard Lewis at the half about the Magic's gameplan.
Dwight Howard swats Ray Allen's floater into the stands.

Other Features
NBA 101