SIMON WHITLOCK made a winning return to the DPA circuit with victory in Saturday's Goulburn Workers Club Open.

Whitlock has joined the PDC and DartPlayers Australia circuits in 2009, and began his bid to qualify for the World Darts Championship in style.

The Queenslander defeated a former World Championship qualifier, Steve MacArthur, 7-5 in the final to take the $1,000 title.

He led 4-0 before MacArthur reduced the gap to one leg at 4-3 and levelled at five-all, but landed back-to-back 180s in winning the crucial 11th leg before sealing the win.

Whitlock saw off former Oceanic Masters champion Barry Jouannet 6-2 in the semis, defeated Phil Bottrell 5-2 in the quarter-finals and whitewashed Don Whittington 4-0 in the last 16.

MacArthur was a 6-3 winner over another former World Championship qualifier, Brian Roach, in the semis.

Play continues on Sunday with a second event at the Goulburn Workers Club.

Goulburn Workers Club Open (Saturday)
Last 16

Simon Whitlock 4-0 Don Whittington
Phil Bottrell 4-3 Scott Krause
Barry Jouannet 4-3 Wayne Brown
Rod Crawford 4-1 Daniel Sim
Paul Neighbour 4-0 Arnel Galvez
Brian Roach 4-3 Dean Mcgladdery
Shaun Travis 4-0 Dave Fitzpatrick
Steve Macarthur 4-1 Phil Heath
Losers $45

Simon Whitlock 5-2 Phil Bottrell
Barry Jouannet 5-2 Rod Crawford
Brian Roach 5-0 Paul Neighbour
Steve MacArthur 5-0 Shaun Travis
Losers $90

Simon Whitlock 6-2 Barry Jouannet
Steve MacArthur 6-3 Brian Roach
Losers $150

Simon Whitlock 7-5 Steve MacArthur
Winner $1,000
Runner-Up $400