Official Website of the Boston Blazers Official Website of the Buffalo Bandits Official Website of the Calgary Roughnecks Official Website of the Colorado Mammoth Official Website of the Edmonton Rush Official Website of the Minnesota Swarm Official Website of the New York Titans Official Website of the Philadelphia Wings Official Website of the Portland LumberJax Official Website of the Rochester Knighthawks Official Website of the San Jose Stealth Official Website of the Toronto Rock
< Sat, May 2 Sun, May 3 Sat, May 9 Sat, May 9 Fri, May 15 >
BOS 8 COL 8 BUF 3 SJS 5 NYT 9:30
Boxscore Boxscore Boxscore Boxscore
< >
< Sat, Apr 18 Sat, Apr 18 Sat, Apr 18 Sat, Apr 18 Fri, May 1 Fri, May 1 >
SJS 11 BOS 13 PHI 8 NYT 12 ROC 10 SJS 20
TOR 15 BUF 12 ROC 11 MIN 10 NYT 11 POR 16
Boxscore Boxscore Boxscore Boxscore Boxscore Boxscore

Troy Cordingley led the Calgary Roughnecks to a 12-4 regular season record. Calgary host San Jose in the West Division Final on Saturday at 9pm ET.



Troy Cordingley wins Heac Coach of the Year, Ed Comeau takes GM honors


The National Lacrosse League has announced that Calgary Roughnecks head coach Troy Cordingley is the winner of the Les Bartley Award for the 2009 season, presented to the Head Coach of the Year. Cordingley led the Roughnecks to a league-best 12-4 regular season record and the top overall seed in the 2009 NLL Playoffs. Calgary allowed the fewest goals in the league this season (167) and compiled an impressive 7-1 record in road games during the 2009 regular season.

Cordingley is in his second season as head coach of the Roughnecks. He previously served as an assistant coach with the Buffalo Bandits, and played most of his nine year playing career in Buffalo, winning two championships (1993 & 1996). He is seeking the first championship of his professional coaching career, and Calgary hopes to take a step closer to a championship as they host San Jose in the West Division Final on Saturday, May 9th at 9pm Eastern.

The National Lacrosse League's 2009 General Manager of the Year Award goes to Ed Comeau of the New York Titans. The award is presented by SIRIUS Satellite Radio.

Comeau, who also serves as the Titans head coach, was appointed to both positions in July of 2008. In his first season with the Titans, Comeau led the team to a 10-6 record and the first East Division regular season title in the brief three-year history of the franchise.

As General Manager, Comeau did not come in and shake things up with a major trade. He was successful in addressing needs via the Entry Draft, and adding depth via trades that didn't grab headlines but were effective nonetheless. "Sometimes the best trades are the ones you don't make", said Comeau. "We addressed our needs this year by drafting players like Stephen Peyser (faceoffs and transition play) and acquiring players like Bill Greer (defense) prior to the trade deadline." The Titans host the Buffalo Bandits in the East Division Final on Saturday, May 9 at Prudential Center. Gametime is 7:30pm ET.

The 2009 Awards Announcements will resume on Monday, May 11th with the announcements of the Defensive Player of the Year, Transition Player of the Year and Goaltender of the Year.

Tuesday, May 5th: Sportsmanship Award & Writer of the Year Award, also known as "The Tom Borrelli Award"

Wednesday, May 6th: Executive of the Year Award & Team Public Relations Executive Award

Thursday, May 7th: The Head Coach of the Year Award, also known as "The Les Bartley Award" & The General Manager of the Year Award, presented by SIRIUS Satellite Radio

Saturday, May 9th: East and West Divisional Finals; Buffalo at New York, 7:30pm ET & San Jose at Calgary, 9pm ET

Monday, May 11th: Defensive Player of the Year, Transition Player of the Year & Goaltender of the Year Awards

Tuesday, May 12th: Rookie of the Year Award and All-Rookie Team

Wednesday, May 13th: All-Pro Teams

Thursday, May 14th: Most Valuable Player Award, presented by Reebok

Weekend of May 15th-17th: 2009 NLL Championship Game

The awards are voted on by team executives, general managers and head coaches of the league's twelve member clubs.
© 2009 National Lacrosse League. The team names, logos and uniform designs are registered trademarks of the NLL.

Privacy Policy - Career Opportunities