Academy of American Poets
View Cart | Log In 
Subscribe | More Info 
Find a Poet or Poem
Advanced Search >


Main Menu
Academy Fellowship
Wallace Stevens Award
Lenore Marshall Prize
James Laughlin Award
Walt Whitman Award
Raiziss/de Palchi Translation Awards
Landon Translation Award
College Prizes
Past Awards
Book Awards FAQ

Past Awards & Grants

  • Atlas Fund
    The Atlas Fund was an umbrella fund for the support of poetry book publishing in the United States. From 1994 through 2001 the fund awarded more than 50 non-commercial presses for poetry projects.
  • Bassine Citation
    From 1986 to 1989, this annual citation was awarded to a neglected poet or volume of poetry chosen by an Academy Fellow.
  • Copernicus Award
    From 1974 to 1977, the Copernicus Award was given to a poet over the age of 45 in recognition of the poet's lifetime work and contribution to poetry as a cultural force.
  • Edgar Allan Poe Award
    From 1974 to 1977, the Edgar Allan Poe Award was given to a poet 45 or under in recognition of the poet's continuing development of his art, and in honor of a newly published volume of the winner's poetry.

  • The Eric Mathieu King Fund
    From 1995 to 1999, the Eric Mathieu King Fund provided grants of up to $3,000 to support the publication of individual volumes of poetry at non-commercial presses.

  • The Greenwall Fund
    The Greenwall Fund, established in 1998, provided grants of up to $3,000 to support the publication of first books of original poetry at non-commercial U.S. presses.
  • Lamont Poetry Selection
    In 1995 this second-book award was endowed by the Drue Heinz Trust and renamed in honor of the poet and publisher James Laughlin. See the James Laughlin Award for more information.
  • Peter I. B. Lavan Younger Poets Award
    From 1983 to 1994, three Lavan Awards per year were given to poets 40 and under.
Larger TypeLarger Type | Home | Help | Contact Us | Privacy Policy Copyright © 1997 - 2009 by Academy of American Poets.