YouTube Symphony Orchestra

Tan Dun

Composer and Conductor

Andy Berendt
Managing Director of Google Creative Lab


Yuja Wang

Piano Soloist

Charlie Liu

Soloist and Student of Lang Lang International Music Foundation


Tilson Thomas rehearsing the third movement of Brahms' Fourth Symphony with the orchestra the afternoon before the concert.

  • Musicians From Across the World Come Together for a Unique Orchestral Experience

    Launched in December 2008, the YouTube Symphony Channel attracted audition videos internationally from musicians looking to join in this first of its kind event--An orchestra brought together by the internet and then performing in Carnegie Hall concert.  The recent concernt was led by conductor Michael Tilson Thomas (below)

    The musicians, selected from more than 30 countries, practiced individually for weeks before coming together for 3 days of rehearsal together at the Julliard School.

    The Carnegie Hall concert included soloists, chamber music, and full symphonic orchestra, and the program represented various styles and periods of classical music, including works by Bach, Mozart, Villa-Lobos, and John Cage.  Contemporary composer Tan Dun, best known for his Academy Award winning score for Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, has written a piece just for the occasion, Internet Symphony No. 1 "Eroica".

     The entire concert is now viewable on YouTube.

     Press Conference, Tuesday April 14, 2009

More Information

Click through...

YouTube Symphony Site

  1.  Copyright NYC Arts & Entertainment 

All rights reserved.