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Keyword Cheat Sheet 
 

A set’s new keywords have reminder text to explain what 

they do. But what about keywords that have been around 

for a while? Below are explanations of the keywords that 

pop up on modern cards without reminder text—or will in 

the near future. 

 

Deathtouch 

Whenever a permanent with deathtouch deals damage to a 

creature, that creature is destroyed. 

 

Defender 

Creatures with defender can’t attack. 

 

Enchant 

All Auras have enchant. The keyword is followed by a 

description of a permanent, card, or player that tells you 

what the Aura can be attached to. When you play the Aura, 

you must target something the enchant ability describes. 

The Aura comes into play attached to it. If the Aura is ever 

attached to something that doesn’t match the description, 

the Aura is put into its owner’s graveyard. 

 

Equip 

All Equipment have equip. You can pay the equip cost to 

attach the Equipment to one of your creatures. It doesn’t 

matter if the Equipment is unattached or is attached to a 

different creature. You can play this ability only at the time 

you could play a sorcery. The equip ability targets the 

creature you’re moving the Equipment onto. 

 

Fear 

A creature with fear can’t be blocked except by artifact 

creatures and/or black creatures. 

 

First Strike & Double Strike 

Creatures with first strike deal their combat damage first, 

and creatures with double strike deal their combat damage 

twice. 

When you reach the combat damage step, check to see 

if any attacking or blocking creatures have first strike or 

double strike. If so, an extra combat damage step is created 

just for them. Only creatures with first strike and double 

strike get to deal combat damage in this step. After that, the 

normal combat damage step happens. All remaining 

attacking and blocking creatures, as well as the ones with 

double strike, deal combat damage during this second step. 

Making a creature lose first strike after the extra 

combat damage step doesn't allow it to deal damage again 

during the normal combat damage step. 

 

Flash 

A card with flash can be played any time you could play an 

instant. 

 

Flying 

A creature with flying can’t be blocked except by creatures 

with flying or reach. 

 

Haste 

A creature with haste isn’t affected by “summoning 

sickness.” It can attack as soon as it comes under your 

control. You can also play its activated abilities with t  in 

the cost. 

 

Landwalk 

Landwalk is the name for a group of keyword abilities that 

includes plainswalk, islandwalk, swampwalk, 

mountainwalk, and forestwalk, as well as some more 

unusual abilities. A creature with landwalk is unblockable 

if the defending player controls at least one land of the 

specified type. 

 

Lifelink 

Whenever a permanent with lifelink deals damage, its 

controller gains that much life. 

 

Protection 

A protection ability always lists what it’s giving protection 

from. It might be protection from red, for example, or 

protection from Goblins. Protection does several different 

things for a creature that has it: 

• All damage those kinds of sources would deal to the 

creature is prevented. 

• The creature can’t be enchanted by those kinds of 

Auras or equipped by those kinds of Equipment. 

• The creature can’t be blocked by those kinds of 

creatures. 

• The creature can’t be targeted by those kinds of spells 

or by abilities from those kinds of cards. 

Players or other permanents can also have protection. In 

those cases, apply as many of the above aspects of 

protection to that player or permanent as you can. 

 

Reach 

A creature with reach can block a creature with flying. 

 

Shroud 

A permanent with shroud can’t be the target of spells or 

abilities—not even your own. Players can also have shroud. 

 

Trample 

If an attacking creature with trample becomes blocked, and 

at least enough of its combat damage is assigned to the 

creatures blocking it to destroy all those creatures, then any 

leftover damage can be assigned to the defending player. 

 

Vigilance 

When a creature with vigilance attacks, it doesn’t become 

tapped. 

 

 

 

Questions? 
Download the Magic™ Basic Rulebook at 

www.wizards.com/magic/rules 

or visit www.wizards.com/customerservice. 


