The Hatters moved to Kenilworth Road in 1905. Nowadays the ground holds 10,226 - a far cry from when a record 30,069 squeezed in to see the Town in action against Blackpool in 1959.
The Kenilworth Stand
Following the Hatters promotion to the old Division Two in 1937 the tinder bank at this end of the ground was more than doubled in height while concrete steps were built at the same time. The resultant terracing was reckoned to have a capacity of 16,000. Nothing changed until the summer of 1986 when a roof was erected with the addition of seats coming in stages over the next 19 years. After promotion to the Championship in 2005, further seats were added to upper tier.
The David Preece ( Family Stand )
Erected over an open corner of the ground in the summer of 1991, this stand offers some of the best views of the pitch. Seating approximately 700 supporters, it is named after the Hatters' legendary midfielder David Preece.
The Main Stand
The small wooden stand that was in place when the ground opened, mysteriously burnt down in 1921 but a new structure was in position for the start of the 1922/23 campaign. The new structure still remains as the central section of the present main stand.
When the Hatters won promotion to the old Division Two in 1937 the Maple Road wing was added. Apart from minor alterations to satisfy current safety standards the stand has remained basically unchanged for almost 80 years.
The Oak Road Stand
Originally wooden terracing, concrete steps were built in 1938 as well as a roof. The steps and roof were extended back in the summer of 1956 and the stand has remained unchanged since apart from the addition of seats in 1986. This stand is allocated to visiting supporters and holds approximately 2,000.
The Bobbers Stand (now executive boxes). Luton Town boasts one of the earliest football supporters' clubs in the country and it was by the magnificent efforts of its members that money was raised to erect a roof over the Beech Hill path side of the ground in 1933. At the same time concrete steps were built over the tinder banking while the underneath was excavated to produce extensive supporters club rooms. Called the Bobbers Stand as it cost a bob (5p) to stand there the structure remained unchanged until 1973 when seats were added. The current executive boxes were installed in the summer of 1986. To find out how to hire our executive boxes visit our Commercial page or contact the the commercial department at the club for further details.