Monday June 22 2009

GotFrag Hardware Forums

KB, Mouse & Pad for $120

5% Ranking 5% Ranking 5% Ranking 5% Ranking
0 Frags
+   -

Hey guys,

I've been out of the competitive scene for a while, but I still like to pug/10man CS sometimes. I need a good keyboard for typing (I'm a programmer) + gaming (so it shouldn't ghost), a nice gaming mouse and a mouse pad to go with it.

For $120USD, what combination would you recommend?

cheers,
Draknir
7% Ranking 7% Ranking 7% Ranking 7% Ranking
+2 Frags
+   -

Keyboard
A keyboard that is good for typing has mechanical switches. It will cost you a little more.. but it's totally worth it. They are a lot more durable, more consistent, more responsive and simply better to type on compared to the usual membrane keyboards. Read http://hothardware.com/cs/blogs/mrtg/arch..
(you can start from the 2nd paragraph)

You will maybe want one with Cherry Brown switches because they have a tactile feeling and are the lightest, thus easy to hold down (fps-gaming in mind). Also, ABS M1 that has simplified black ALPS-copy switches which are close to Cherry Browns is going cheap on newegg: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp..

Mouse
Get a microsoft one.. wheel mouse optical, intellimouse explorer and intellimouse optical are considered as gaming-grade mice. Other optical mice have prediction so you might not want them. Many people will argue about this because they are happy with their shiny MX518's or deathadders.. but the truth is, prediction hurts your aim. You can find plenty of info on this on the web. Plus MS mice are relatively cheap, but top-end quality. You can get a wmo at no cost these days.

Mouse pad