- The defeated finalists in the inaugural edition of the ICC World Twenty20, Pakistan have lifted the trophy with a convincing eight-wicket triumph over Sri Lanka.
- Pakistan, with their eight-wicket victory, have equalled their biggest victory-margin in Twenty20 Internationals.  They had defeated Kenya by a similar margin at Nairobi on September 4, 2007.  
- Sri Lanka's aforesaid defeat is their first in the ICC World Twenty20, 2009.

Shahid Afridi is the SX4 Performer of the Final

- Pakistan have won three and lost two out of five contested against Sri Lanka in Twenty20 Internationals.
- Sri Lanka's score of 138 for six is the first total of less than 150 in a final of the ICC World Twenty20.
- In the first edition of the ICC World Twenty20, India had made 157 for five and Pakistan replied with 152.

Images from the Final
- Kumar Sangakkara (64 not out off 52 balls) has posted his career-best score, surpassing the 55 not out off 42 balls against Australia at Nottingham on June 8, 2009.
- Sangakkara, during the course of his aforesaid knock, has completed his 300 runs in Twenty20 Internationals -315 runs at an average of 26.25, including two fifties in 15 matches.
- Sangakkara's unbeaten knock of 64 is the second best in the ICC World Twenty20 final, next only to Gautam Gambhir's 75 not out off 54 balls for India against Pakistan at Johannesburg on September 24,2007.
- Sangakkara became the first Sri Lankan player to post a fifty in five matches against Pakistan, obliterating Tillakaratne Dilshan's 46 at Lord's on June 12,2009.
- Sangakkara's 64 not out is the highest score by a wicketkeeper in the ICC World Twenty20, surpassing Brendan Taylor's 60 not out off 45 balls for Zimbabwe against Australia at Cape Town on September 12,2007.    
- Angelo Matthews (35 not out off 24 balls) has recorded his best score in Twenty20 Internationals, bettering the 12 not out off four balls against West Indies at The Oval on June 19, 2009.
- Matthews has averaged 75.00 in Twenty20 Internationals - 75 in six innings (five times not out).
- Sangakkara and Matthews have shared a partnership of 68 (unbroken) for the seventh wicket - Sri Lanka's highest for this wicket-position, obliterating the 45 (unbroken) between Mubarak and Wijekoon against Kenya at Johannesburg on September 14, 2007.
- The aforesaid stand is the second highest for the seventh wicket in Twenty20 Internationals, next only to the 91 between Paul Collingwood and Michael Yardy for England against West Indies at The Oval on June 28, 2007.     
- Abdul Razzaq (3/20) has produced his best bowling performance in Twenty20 Internationals, eclipsing the 3 for 30 against England at Bristol on August 28, 2006.
- Tillakaratne Dilshan has registered his second duck in Twenty20 Internationals - his second in the ICC World Twenty20.
- Dilshan has recorded two ducks against Pakistan and one against Ireland.  He had recorded a first-ball duck against Pakistan at King City on October 11, 2008.
- Dilshan, despite his two ducks in the competition, has aggregated 317 at an average of 52.83 at a strike rate of 144.74, including three fifties, in seven matches.
- Dilshan has justifiably been adjudged the Player of the tournament - his first such award in Twenty20 Internationals.
- Dilshan is the only one to have aggregated 300 runs in a tournament in Twenty20 Internationals.  Matthew Hayden's tally of 265 (ave.88.33) in six matches in the 2007-08 edition of the ICC World Twenty20 was the previous best in a competition.
- Jehan Mubarak has registered two ducks in Twenty20 Internationals - both against Pakistan.  In the inaugural edition of the ICC World Twenty20, he had recorded a fourth-ball duck aainst Pakistan at Johannesburg on September 17, 2007.
- Mubarak has averaged only 11.20 in the competition - 56 in seven innings.
- During the course of his 17 off 10 balls, Sanath Jayasuriya has become the leading run-getter for Sri Lanka in Twenty20 Internationals, bettering Dilshan's aggregate of 514 (ave.34.26) in 19 matches.  Jayasuriya has taken his runs' tally to 518 (ave.30.47) in 18 matches.
- Umar Gul, with 13 wickets at 12.15 runs apiece, is the leading wicket-taker for Pakistan in the competition.  Saeed Ajmal has claimed 12 and Shahid Afridi 11.
- Umar's tally of 37 wickets at 11.08 runs apiece in 21 matches is a new record in Twenty20 Internationals.  Shahid Afridi is second in the list with 33 wickets at 15.57 runs apiece in 23 matches.
- Kamran Akmal, with his 37 off 28 balls, has taken his run-aggregate to 188 (ave.26.85) in seven matches - the most by a wicketkeeper in the ICC World Twenty20, 2009, surpassing Kumar Sangakkara's aggregate of 177 (ave.35.40) in seven games.
- Only twice in his career, Ajantha Mendis has failed to take a wicket - both times against Pakistan at Lord's in the ICC World Twenty20,2009.
- Shahid Afridi (54 not out off 40 balls) has posted his career-best score, bettering the 51 off 34 balls against South Africa at Nottingham on June 18, 2009.  These are his only two fifty-plus innings in Twenty20 Internationals.
- Afridi and Shoaib Malik were associated in a stand of 76 (unbroken) for the third wicket - Pakistan's best against Sri Lanka, eclipsing the 48 between Younis Khan and Misbah-ul-Haq at King City on October 11, 2008.
- The aforesaid stand is Pakistan's best for the third wicket in the ICC World Twenty20, eclipsing the  67 between Shahid Afridi and Shoaib Malik against South Africa at Trent Bridge on June 18, 2009.
- Afridi has been adjudged the Man of the Match for the fifth time in Twenty20 Internationals - one each against England, Scotland, Australia, South Africa and Sri Lanka.
- Afridi became the first player to receive the Man of the Match awards in the Semi Final and the Final of the same ICC World Twenty20.      

  • Videos
  • Photos