Winners of the Golden Leopard

60 years of Golden Leopards and grand prizes

Note:     The “Leopards” were established in 1968. Before then, the Festival’s prizes had various titles, indicated below. After 1968, unless otherwise noted, all the films listed received the Golden Leopard.

2008    Parque via by Enrique Rivero (Mexico)

2007    Ai no yokan (The Rebirth) by Masahiro Kobayashi (Japan)

2006    Das Fräulein by Andrea Staka (Switzerland)

2005    Nine Lives by Rodrigo García (USA)

2004    Private by Saverio Costanzo (Italy)

2003    Khamosh Pani (Silent Waters) by Sabiha Sumar 

2002    Das Verlangen by Iain Dilthey (Germany)

2001    Alla rivoluzione sulla due cavalli by Maurizio Sciarra (Italy)

2000    Baba (Father) by Wang Shuo (China)

1999    Peau d’homme, cœur de bête  by Hélène Angel (France)

1998    Zhao Xiansheng (Mr. Zhao) by Lü Yue (China)

1997    Ayneh (The Mirror) by Jafar Panahi (Iran)

1996    Nénette et Boni by Claire Denis (France)

1995    Raï by Thomas Gilou (France)

1994    Khomreh (The Jar) by Ibrahim Foruzesh (Iran)

1993    Azghyin ushtykzyn’azaby by Ermek Shinarbaev (Kazakhstan)

1992    Qiuyue (Autumn Moon) by Clara Law (Chuck-Yiu) (Hong-Kong)

1991    Johnny Suede by Tom Di Cillo (USA)

1990    Sluchainij Vals by Svetlana Proskurina (Russia)

1989    Dharmaga tongjoguro kan kadalgun?
             (Why Has Bodhi-Dharma Left for the East? A Zen Fable)

             by Young-Kyun Bae (South Korea)

1988    Golden Leopard ex aequo:

             Distant Voices, Still Lives by Terence Davies (UK)
             Schmetterling by Wolfgang Becker (Germany)

1987    O Bobo by José Alvaro Morais (Portugal)

1986    Jezioro Bodenskie (Sons and Comrades) by Janusz Zaorski

1985    Höhenfeuer by Fredi M. Murer (Switzerland)

1984    Stranger than Paradise by Jim Jarmusch (USA)

1983    Adj király katonat (The Princess) by Pal Erdöss (Hungary)

1982    The official jury decides not to confer any official award but only four

             Traveller by Joe Comerford (Ireland)
             Panelkapcsolat (The Prefab People) by Bela Tarr (Hungary)
             Les Jocondes by Jean Daniel Pillault (France)
             Quartetto Basileus by Fabio Carpi (Italy)

1981    Chakra by Rabindra Dharmaraj (India)

1980    Maledetti vi amerò by Marco Tullio Giordana (Italy)

1979    Sürü (The Herd) by Zeki Okten (Turkey)

1978    I tembelides tis eforis kiladas (The Slothful Ones of the Fertile
by Nikos Panayotopoulos (Greece)

1977    Antonio Gramsci, i giorni di carcere by Lino Del Fra (Italy)

1976    Le grand soir by Francis Reusser (Switzerland)

1975    Le fils d’Amr est mort by Jean-Jacques Andrieu (Belgium)

1974    Tuzolto utca 25 by István Szabo (Hungary)

1973    Iluminacja by Krzysztof Zanussi (Poland)

1972    Bleak Moments by Mike Leigh (UK)

1971    Golden Leopard for the best first features:
            In punto di morte by Mario Garriba (Italy) 
            Hanno cambiato faccia by Corrado Farina (Italy) 
            Les amis by Gérard Blain (France) 

            Golden Leopard for the best second features:
            Private road by Barney Platts-Mills (UK)
            Znaky na drodze by Andrzej Piotrovsky (Poland)  

1970    Golden Leopard ex aequo:

            The End Of The Road by Aram Avakiam (USA)
            Soleil O by Med Hondo (France/Mauritania)
by Branko Plesa (Yugoslavia)
            Mujo (The Transient Life) by Akio Jissoji (Japan)

1969    Golden Leopard unanimously:

             Charles mort ou vif  by Alain Tanner (Switzerland)

             Golden Leopard by majority:

             V ogne broad net (No Path Through Fire) by Gleb Panfilov (Russia)
             Tres tristes tigres by Raul Ruiz (Chile)
             Szemüvegesek (Those who Wear Glasses) by Sandor Simò

1968    Golden Leopard: (** )

             I Visionari by Maurizio Ponzi (Italy)

1967    Grand Prize awarded by the Youth Jury: (*)

             Terra em transe by Glauber Rocha (Brazil)

1966    Grand Prize awarded by the Youth Jury: (*)

             Kazdy den odvahu (Courage for Every Day) by Ewald Schorm
             (Czech Republic)

1965    Golden Sail:

             Four in the morning by Anthony Simmons (UK)

1964    Golden Sail:

             Cerny Petr (Black Peter) by Milos Forman (Czech Republic)

1963    Golden Sail:

             Transport z raje by Zbnek Brynych (Czech Republic)

1962    Golden Sail:

             Un cœur gros comme ça by François Reichenbach (France)

1961    Golden Sail:

             Nobi by Kon Ichigawa (Japon)

1960    Golden Sail:

             Il bell’Antonio by Mauro Bolognini (Italy)

1959    Award for the Best Direction:

             Killer’s Kiss by Stanley Kubrick (USA)

1958    Golden Sail:

             Ten, North Frederick by Philip Dunne (USA)

1957    Prize awarded by the Jury of the Swiss Association of Film
             Journalists: (*)

             Il grido by Michelangelo Antonioni (Italy) 
             Prize awarded by the Jury of the Swiss-Italian Radio: (*)

             The Young Stranger by John Frankenheimer (USA)

1956    The Festival does not take place.

1955    Prizes awarded by the Jury of the Swiss-Italian Radio: (*)

             Le rossignol et l’empereur de Chine by Jirì Trnka (Czech Republic)
             Carmen Jones
by Otto Preminger (USA) 

1954    Prizes awarded by the International Critic’s Jury: (*)

             Jigoku mon (Gate of Hell) by Teinosuke Kinugasa (Japan)
             Rotation by Wolfgang Staudte (Germany)
             Le mouton à cinq pattes by Henri Verneuil (France)

1953    Prizes awarded by the International Critic’s Jury, ex aequo: (*)

             Julius Caesar by David Bradley (USA) 
             Kompositor Glinka (Man of Music) by Grigori Aleksandrov (Russia)
             The Glass Wall by Maxwell Shane (USA)
1952    Prize awarded by the International Jury of the Press: (*)

             Hunted by Charles Crichton (UK)

1951    The Festival does not take place.

1950    Prize awarded by the International Jury of the Press: (*)

             When Willie comes marching home by John Ford (USA)

1949    Grand Prize:

             La ferme des sept péchés by Jean Devaivre (France)

1948    Grand Prize: (*)

             Germania anno zero by Roberto Rossellini (Italy)

1947    Best film: (*)

             Le silence est d’or by René Clair (France)

1946    Best film: (*)

             And then there were none by René Clair (USA)

(*)      No official competition that year. Prizes awarded by a parallel jury.

(**)    The official jury withdrew for political reasons.
          The prizes were awarded by the Youth Jury.