Contenders await group stage fate

Friday 28 August 2009
UEFA Cup holders Shakhtar Donetsk are seeded firstUEFA Cup holders Shakhtar Donetsk are seeded first (©Getty Images)

The lineup for today's 2009/10 UEFA Europa League group stage draw has been completed, with the 48 contenders divided into four seeded pots.

Monaco draw
This week's 38 play-off winners join the ten losing sides from the UEFA Champions League play-off round in Friday's group stage draw which will take place from 12.45CET at the Grimaldi Forum in Monaco. It can be followed live on video and audio on

Top seeds
The 48 sides are split into four seeding pots, with one from each being drawn into the 12 groups, though no team can meet another from the same association. Seeds are based on UEFA's coefficient system with last season's UEFA Cup winners FC Shakhtar Donetsk joined in Pot 1 by eleven other leading clubs. They include the side they beat to lift this competition's predecessor in May, Werder Bremen, and five former European Champion Clubs' Cup winners: AFC Ajax, PSV Eindhoven, SL Benfica, Hamburger SV and FC Steaua Bucureşti. The 1967 European champions, Celtic FC, are in Pot 2.

Games will be played on 17 September, 1 and 22 October, 5 November, 2/3, and 16/17 December. Where possible, teams from the same association will kick off at different times and, on Matchdays 5 and 6, on separate days. In the Round of 32 and Round of 16 draws in Nyon on 18 December, the top two sides from each section will be joined by the eight teams which finish third in their UEFA Champions League group.

UEFA Europa League seeding
Pot 1
1FC Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR, holders)74.370
2Werder Bremen (GER)91.339
3Villarreal CF (ESP)
4AS Roma (ITA)
5PSV Eindhoven (NED)75.862
6Sporting Clube de Portugal (POR)68.292
7Hamburger SV (GER)67.339
8SL Benfica (POR)64.292
9Valencia CF (ESP)59.853
10Panathinaikos FC (GRE)56.633
11AFC Ajax (NED)54.826
12FC Steaua Bucureşti (ROU)53.781
Pot 2
13Fenerbahçe SK (TUR)52.445
14FC Basel 1893 (SUI)51.050
15LOSC Lille Métropole (FRA)47.033
16Celtic FC (SCO)40.575
17Everton FC (ENG)35.899
18Club Brugge KV (BEL)34.065
19SC Heerenveen (NED)33.826
20Galatasaray AŞ (TUR)33.445
21RSC Anderlecht (BEL)32.065
22FK Austria Wien (AUT)31.565
23FC København (DEN)26.890
24S.S. Lazio (ITA)26.582
Pot 3
25Hertha BSC Berlin (GER)26.339
26AC Sparta Praha (CZE)26.150
27FC Dinamo 1948 Bucureşti (ROU)25.781
28AEK Athens FC (GRE)25.633
29SK Slavia Praha (CZE)25.150
30PFC Levski Sofia (BUL)24.250
31Athletic Club Bilbao (ESP)23.853
32FK Partizan (SRB)23.050
33Hapoel Tel-Aviv FC (ISR)18.050
34FC Twente (NED)17.826
35NK Dinamo Zagreb (CRO)16.466
36Fulham FC (ENG)15.899
Pot 4
37PFC CSKA Sofia (BUL)14.250
38Toulouse FC (FRA)14.033
39CFR 1907 Cluj (ROU)13.781
40Genoa CFC (ITA)12.582
41SK Rapid Wien (AUT)8.565
42FC Timişoara (ROM)7.781
43FC BATE Borisov (BLR)7.733
44CD Nacional (POR)7.292
45FC Salzburg (AUT)6.565
46SK Sturm Graz (AUT)3.565
47FK Ventspils (LVA)2.832
48FC Sheriff (MDA)1.333

© 1998-2009. All rights reserved.