MR. GOTHOM ARYA (member since 1992) is an associate professor of electrical engineering and former chairman of the faculty senate at Chulalongkorn University in Bangkok.

PROF. GABRIEL BARAMKI (member since 1992), a Palestinian living in Ramallah on the West Bank, is a chemist and Acting President of Birzeit University.

PROF. FRANCESCO CALOGERO (ex officio) is a professor of theoretical physics at the University of Rome, La Sapienza, and the Secretary­General of Pugwash.

PROF. ANA MARIA CETTO (member since 1992) is head of the department of theoretical physics and former dean of the faculty of sciences at the National University of Mexico.

PROF. UBIRATAN D'AMBROSIO (member since 1987) is professor of mathematics at the State Universtiy of Campinas near Sao Paulo, Brazil.

PROF. OGUNLADE DAVIDSON (member since 1992) is an associate professor of mechanical engineering and director of research and development at the University of Sierra Leone.

PROF. HANS­PETER DUERR (member since 1987) is the chairman of the board of directors of the Max­Planck­Institut for Physics in Munich.

GEN. EMMANUEL ERSKINE (member since 1992) is a retired general from Ghana who served in several commanding capacities with United Nations Peacekeeping Forces, especially in the Middle East.

PROF. ESMAT EZZ (member since 1992) is a toxicologist and retired general from Egypt who has been deeply involved in international negotiations and verification activities on chemical weapons. Currently he is a professor at the Military Academy in Cairo.

PROF. VIRGINIA GAMBA (member since 1987), an Argentinian, is a project director at the United Nations Institute for Disarmament Research in Geneva.

ACADEMICIAN VITALII GOLDANSKII (member since 1987) is director of the Institute of Chemical Physics of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow.

PROF. JOHN HOLDREN (member since 1982) is a professor of energy and resources at the University of California, Berkeley.

DR. VENANCE JOURNÉ (member since 1992) is a French nuclear and particle physicist now working at the International Centre for Research on Environment and Development in Paris.

PROF. SERGUEI KAPITZA (member since 1987) is a physicist with the Institute of Physical Problems of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow.

DR. MARTIN KAPLAN (ex officio member), an American living in Switzerland, is a former director of research at the World Health Organization and a former Secretary-General of Pugwash.

PROF. CATHERINE McARDLE KELLEHER (member since 1989) is a senior fellow in foreign policy studies at the Brookings Institution, Washington, DC.

PROF. MICHIJI KONUMA (member since 1992) is a professor of physics at Keio University in Japan and former president of the Physical Society of Japan.

MR. SVERRE LODGAARD (member since 1992), a Norwegian political scientist, is director of the United Nations Institute for Disarmament Research (UNIDIR) in Geneva.

PROF. MACIEJ NALECZ (member since 1973) is director of the Institute of Biocybernetics and Biomedical Engineering of the Polish Academy of Sciences in Warsaw.

PROF. AMNON PAZY (member since 1992) is an Israeli professor of mathematics and chairman of the Planning and Budgeting Committee of the Council for Higher Education.

DR. SEBASTIAN PEASE (member since 1992) is a British physicist and consultant who directed the UK fusion energy programme.

PROF. JOSEPH ROTBLAT (ex officio member) is a retired professor of medical physics at the University of London and the President of Pugwash.

PROF. BHALCHANDRA UDGAONKAR (member since 1987) is a retired professor of theoretical physics at the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research in Bombay.

* * * * *

  • Council Declaration: Dagomys (3 September 1988)
  • Council Declaration in Hiroshima (23 July 1995)
  • Council Statement (30 July 1995)
  • Executive Committee

  • Back to Home Page

    This page was constructed by Vittore Mazzei on the behalf of the Rome Pugwash Office. 1